We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere but overpriced for below average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pagrabins

Pagrabins
Baznicas iela 5, Kuldiga, Latvia
+371 63 320 034
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Kuldiga
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but overpriced for below average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant is really nice and is in a good location, if you sit outside there is a water stream passing just where you are sitting and the atmosphere is very pleasant.

However, the restaurant was very busy during our stay and it took a very long time to get our orders and food. On top of the food being very average, two out of four of us felt sick after it. I am not sure if it was because of this restaurant exactly as the others didn't get sick and tried our food maybe it just didn't match our system, but either way the food was not worth the wait and the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pagrabins, Kuldiga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great food, great service, generous servings. Everybody in the company (including two foreigners) was very satisfied with the food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
500 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,649 helpful votes
“Fairly good food, but inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Charming restaurant, in the basement, with a few dining rooms divided by arches. Food is only fairly good, but really inexpensive. The service is kind, but not too heedful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Long wait, medicore food and steep prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything else in Kuldiga seemed to be less pricey than Riga/Sigulda, so why this restaurant should be so expensive compared to the mediocre food was a big suprise. We also had to wait very long for everything (both to order, get drinks and finally get the food).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was the only place in Latvia where the food was excellent and the service was fine. We returned the next day and again were happy. They have menu in English and they speak English. The prices are very agreeable. I can recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagrabins also viewed

Kuldiga, Kurzeme Region
Kuldiga, Kurzeme Region
 
Kuldiga, Kurzeme Region
Kuldiga, Kurzeme Region
 

Been to Pagrabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagrabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.