We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PASS THE SALT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wieliczka Salt Mine

Wieliczka Salt Mine
Ul. Danilowicza 10, Wieliczka 32-020, Poland
+48 12 278 73 02
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Wieliczka Salt Mine like an insider
Special Offer
$75*
and up
Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day...
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Wieliczka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“PASS THE SALT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wizliecka is a'must see' attraction if you are in Krakow. Many metres under the ground it's the Polish Eighth Wonder of the world or so they would have you believe.

It's a long treck through the wondrous world of underground things made by salt. But, when we went there, it was mobbed and, after an hour and a half we were desperate to escape.

Yes the underground cathedral is stunning but it just goes on too long.

If you have a few days in Krakow then go and see it.

If, like us, you only have 2 days, then chill out and enjoy the restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,841
    734
    288
    112
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“amazing place a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

you do need to be reasonably fit as the entrance is down hundreds of wooden steps as you dive down into the mine. It is amazing. Huge cavernous rooms carved out of the salt have scenes of past eras of mining. A huge church with carved altar and statues has the most beautiful enormous chandeliers made of salt all underground. Chambers of large lakes settled in the salt rooms reflect the clever lighting effects as you climb down long stairways of wood. This is a must see place unlike anything else I have seen in my many travels.
Getting back to the surface by the tiny cramped miners lift is quite an experience too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really, really impressive and an excellent guide. We went in November but wouldn't have enjoyed a peak tourist time because our group size and pace of the tour was just right, occasionally catching up with another group. Also we can only imagine the queues for the two delightfully packed 8 people lifts during busy times. We waited 10 minutes to be escourted to the lifts which was ok. Cafe rediculously cheap. An excellent fruit pastry cost 7plz. We've paid 10 euros in Paris for the same. Having read about the pioneering spirit of other contributors, we elected to travel by bus. So hear are the details. The 304 bus on AL. Z. Krasinskiego costing 6.3plz each single traveling over the river (South). We boarded at Jubilat where there is a kiosk selling tickets and got off at Wieliczka Kopinalnia Soli. Makes sure it's Soli. There are three other Wieliczka stops. The information is displayed on the bus. On return we bought our ticket on the bus. However be quick because the money slot on this machine closes if you are tardy. The journey takes less than 30 mins.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A great experience, we were told it would be very cold underground, but after clinbing down over 300 steps at the start you don't feel cold. some of the chambers carved out by the miners years ago are truly amazing, Chapels, ballrooms huge chandelliers all carved out of salt. 327 metres underground, (you do get to the surface in lifts!) Huge lakes and sculptures everywhere. Our guide wasn't all that easy to understand though, she babbled really quickly, but didn't matter too much.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique, cheap & memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went here with my friend on the 7th of November and cannot say that I regretted it. It is fascinating and everything you see leaves you in awe. I must admit I did not expect much but it is worth the visit.

The tours in the afternoon tend to be less busy than the morning so we had the place to ourselves and our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. As we were the only ones in the mine we were shown areas not yet open to the public and had a preview of a music concert which made it a little bit more special.

Journey time to the Salt Mines is not long even in rush hour traffic while the walking in the mind is hardly exhausting, we had a little old Irish lady with us and she managed fine!

Cannot recommend enough.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wieliczka Salt Mine also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Wieliczka Salt Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wieliczka Salt Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.