We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming room, and gourmet restaurant and a free breakfast with lots of selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Templ

Hotel Templ
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Templ to your Saves list
Hotel Templ
Husova 50, Mikulov 692 01 , Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mikulov
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming room, and gourmet restaurant and a free breakfast with lots of selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

While traveling through Europe we happened along this beautiful little hotel by chance. This historic building nestled beneath a castle in a precious little village is meticulously maintained. It was clean and fresh with a nice decor. Our room was spacious with air conditioning, wi fi and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was large, fresh and clean with high quality fixtures. As we climbed the stone steps to our room, worn by centuries of footsteps, the sensor lights turned on to guide our way as did the entry light in our room as we stepped in. The staff was helpful and friendly and the dining room offered a gourmet menu. The duck was superb while the soothing music played on the vine covered patio where we savoured our evening meal. I've never felt more welcome and hope to return in the future. This hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here two nights in October with 2 other couples. We got 3 rooms - all were quite small but not cramped. Each came with a balcony with a nice view. The weather was great and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the peace and quite til late in the evening. The balcony wasn't exactly private (low 'dividers' separated the balcony space for each room). But it worked well for our party since we were all together. Not sure how it would work if others were staying there. Our rooms were in the 2nd building not attached to the restaurant (sorry, I can't recall what room # we were in.) The breakfast that came with the room was good: yogurt, cheese, breads, eggs, meat, coffee/tea, juice.
The hotel's dinner menu was great. We eat out a three times in Mikulov and for 10 days in the Czech Republic and our best meal was at Hotel Templ.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just returned from Hotel Templ and we can completely sympathise with the people who got room 11. We were in the next room (number 12) which not only is a tiny room (approx 10 feet square), but doesn't even have a window!! We had a door leading on to a small terrrace (shared with 2 other rooms). We had to leave our door wide open all night as the temperature was in the 80's!! Hardly private.

On a good note, the restaurant has a good menu and the food is of a high standard. The breakfast is also very good with lots of choice and excellent pastries. We hired fantastic bikes from the hotel and cycled to nearby Lednice which was wonderful.

All in all a nice hotel if you are lucky enough to get one of the beautiful rooms they show on their website. Good luck!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My third stay at the Templ over a couple of years shows that this place doesn't go down on its standards. It is definitely worth the extra couple of Czech crowns (ha!) you pay in relation to its competition in town. The same can be said of their restaurant (ah! the vine-covered patio!) both for dinners and for their breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Make sure you get Suite No. 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Very comfortable hotel. We were the only guests at the hotel during our stay, but were still served a delicious buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Templ Hotel was our favorite small inn, of about a half dozen we visited in the Czech Republic. We loved the history of the building -- a former home with its own private synagogue in the Jewish quarter -- and the fact that the owners appreciate its history. They were happy to show us the former synagogue, now a conference space, and they have stancilled two mezuzot in the lobby as part of the decor.

The restaurant includes seating in a small quiet courtyard. We had dinner there and it was surprisingly gourmet for a small town -- a welcome change from the pork-and-dumplings that we had been eating.

Another plus -- our room had air conditioning, which many Czech hotels don't have. I suppose it's usually not needed, but it was over 90 degrees when we were there so it was quite welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

which was VERY small (running joke: please take a shower so I can get up)
Maybe that particular room was THE exception (the price paid was the highest they had on offer) but I will not return to find out.
Second caveat: the bed was much too small - not really fit for 2 .

Otherwise the hotel is just fine (location / cleanliness / service) - and it's restaurant is one of the best in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Templ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Templ

Address: Husova 50, Mikulov 692 01 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Mikulov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mikulov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Templ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Templ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.