We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair quality for the price we paid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zlata Hvezda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zlata Hvezda to your Saves list
Hotel Zlata Hvezda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykovo namesti 107, Trebon 37901, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Trebon
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fair quality for the price we paid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I think when reviewing this hotel one has to take into account the edifice has over 500 years and its interiors are a result of a compromise between history protection and current hotel needs.

We stayed at the Zlata Hvezda first weekend of June and had a large room facing the inner yard. We had no view but on the other hand there was no noice from the main square. Furniture in the room was old, but fully functional, however not up to 4 starts standard. The room was spotlessly clean. Bathroom seemed to be renovated and was OK.

Staff at reception was very polite and reasonably efficent as well as in the restaurant. Breakfast was acceptable, although not reaching 4 stars level. We tried the wellness centre and service was very good.

Overall, at the price we paid, the experience was very positive and we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
230 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights. Whilst I generally shower hotels with praise this one I won't. We didn't get the room from hell, 119 we did get 116. No view except across skylights, hot and sticky at night. Whilst the room was kept clean, one day the cleaner left it unlocked and day entered the room thinking we had left whilst our pocessions we had left on the bed whilst we packed the car. Reception had said we had left so they said but we had told reception we hadn't. So security issues at this place.

Breakfast was a flash back to the communism period. Zero service, attitude problems with staff, poor food and little restocking as breakfast items were used up. No plates one day. The staff shrugged their shoulders when shown the gap of where the plates should be. Not my problem.

Whilst they did use local fresh fruit its quality was problematic, tomatoes off, strawberries off and unripe apricots. No other fruit except local sourced although it is available, you see it in other hotels and supermarkets.

Perhaps they pride themselves in giving you the ultimate pre revolution experience or just the management and staff need a good shake down. It will be the latter.

So to experience rationed western values in keeping with the communist period this is the place to go. Reception staff were friendly, its the rest where issues exist. WiFi in room works and the charged parking works fine.

Obviously the gold has tarnished at this place. Guests also looked not happy and washed up. So whilst I would like to say something more positive about this place its tired and not managed in a customer focussed way which is all too obvious.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praha
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel has only nice new reception and friendly staff. It is all. Room very small, view to the wall of house opposite side - so dark also in the morning, furniture from time before revolution in the year 89, broken table and lamp. Only bath is new renovated, but although very small. The restaurant looks like the old pub, not such a restaurant in 4stars hotel. A special "thing" is breakfest. I dont remember such a terrible breakfest in any hotel! Basic food, no wider choice, nasty pastry and all the cheepest, what it is possible to buy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr Š, General Manager at Hotel Zlata Hvezda, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. If you do not like the assigned room, it is a pity that you have not requested the change.
Most of our clients have a different opinion on the restaurant.
We will improve the assortment of breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely hotel right on the square. Very nice indoor and outdoor restaurant on the square. Our room was very large with a very modern bathroom. The bed was wonderful and the room quiet and restful. Very clean with nice amenities. This was the first place that had 24 hour laundry service which is always a plus for me. Right next to it is a convince store which was handy. I would highly rate this property. Breakfast was good and solid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr Š, Manager at Hotel Zlata Hvezda, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This would be the way a hotel in the very heart of the beautiful south-Bohemian town would have looked like if there never had been Communism in the Czech Republic and the pre-war tradition would have developed ininterruptedly. Thank you for an amazing stay. The hotel room overlooking the Christmas fair and the beautifully decorated square prevented us from watching TV (which would need an upgrade, by the way). Comfortable and above all cosy accommodation, exemplary staff and the absolutely great lady-receptionist, great breakfast and gorgeous dinner at the hotel restaurant. I recommend any type of meal from the carp since it is an authentic speciality from fish that is freshly caught in one of the many ponds in the vicinity. Other restaurants in town, too, prepare meals from local fishes and the receptionist was happy to give us tips although it was of rival restaurants. The hotel wellness is not big but has everything we needed and mainly, unlike in other spa hotels, we did not feel like patients but guests. Thank you once again for a perfect advent weekend.

.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr Š, Manager at Hotel Zlata Hvezda, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our city is really the pearl of Czech Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is a first class establishement which also includes welness center of high quality. The restaurant offers a local cuisine using regional ingredients – the fish plates are the best! Also the personnel is very accomodating. I was more than sattisfied!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr Š, Manager at Hotel Zlata Hvezda, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate your evaluation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We bought a romantic stay in Trebon Hotel Golden Star has met our expectations in every way. Amazing room size four-poster bed with views to the picturesque historic square enraptured. Although the hotel is not new, it has very stylish wellness center. Personal was friendly helpful. Meals - fishes - wonderful. RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Room overloking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr Š, Manager at Hotel Zlata Hvezda, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for the compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trebon
0.1 mi away
Bily Konicek
Bily Konicek
#3 of 7 in Trebon
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Design hotel Romantick
0.1 mi away
Pension Siesta
Pension Siesta
#6 of 7 in Trebon
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Concertino Hotel
Concertino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Jindrichuv Hradec
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penzion a lazebna Bily jednorozec
0.4 mi away
Apartmany Na Seniku
Apartmany Na Seniku
#2 of 34 in Trebon
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zlata Hvezda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zlata Hvezda

Address: Masarykovo namesti 107, Trebon 37901, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Trebon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Trebon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zlata Hvezda 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Zlata Hvezda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zlata Hvezda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.