We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor to your Saves list
Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hradebni 3037, Tabor 390 01, Czech Republic (Formerly OREA Hotel Dvorak)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tabor
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel in September 2012.

We came earlier (1pm), but our room was ready, reception staff was nice and helpful for the whole stay. Room is large enough with such a comfortable bed and view from window, bathroom is clean with full equipment you need. Breakfast was awesome, you have so many options to find a food you really like - and everything was really tasty. Check out was quick with no problems.

Location is perfect, it's like 3-5 minutes far from central square and other sightseeings (Museum of chocolate and so on; btw if you want to visit this museum with kids, you will pay a lot of money, you have to pay for many separate things, it is not so cheap as we expected).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsolutions, Sales Manager at Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear hotel guest, Thank you very much for your review. Its always nice to hear that our guests were satisfied. Hopefully we will see you again in our Wellness & Congress hotel Dvořák Tábor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
18
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a weekend here as part of a company-sponsored event. Tabor is a lovely town and I was looking forward to having a hotel with a great location. However, the impression from check in until check out was that the hotel lacked the capabilities to host any events and the staff made every possible effort to be difficult and rude. The food was sub-par and reminded me of something that would be served in a university cafeteria or perhaps a workers hostel. Definitely not high-class as promised.

We were an average size group (around 25 people) and they had asked us to pick our lunch and dinner options in advance so that the kitchen could be prepared. When we checked in, they gave us tiny little meal vouchers. Many people did not get what they requested and some people got 2 lunch and no dinner vouchers or vice versa. When those in the group who got the wrong meals asked to change them, they were told that it was too late, and they would have to eat whatever was in the voucher the received.

During lunch (at Le Cave), the servers were confused at best and continued to mill about multiple times trying to figure out what to serve us. There were only 3 meal options and the color coded vouchers were all set out for them to view. Soup came (without any bread) and it seems that they had either miscalculated or gave the wrong dishes to the wrong people, as the vegetarians at the last table were given the soup with meat in it. When this was pointed out, the server then tried to remove the pieces of beef from the soup, as they were out of the vegetarian soup.

Dinner was served in a conference room, as opposed to a dining room and was average at best.

As part of the group package, we were told breakfast would be served until 10.30. When we arrived at 10, there was almost no food left. When one of the Czech speakers in our group asked the waitress to bring out more food, we were told no, that breakfast was until 10. Once we pointed out that there were about 15 people waiting to eat breakfast and no food, she simply said- well nobody told me. After much debate, we were able to get them to bring out some of the breakfast options.

We were told we could check out until 1.30 pm. When we returned from our morning walk, they had already changed the locks on the door and we had to return to reception multiple times before they would reset the locks so we could go in and get our luggage. Upon check out, some of our group were asked to fill in the cards which were to be filled in upon arrival, as it seems they didn't realize they were missing before.

Clearly the hotel has potential, it is a beautiful city and a great location. However, they would need to completely re-train all the staff on the appropriate way to interact with paying customers. The food is inadequate for the star rating and they are grossly under prepared to host any event of any size.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsolutions, Sales Manager at Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your opinion with us and other travellers. Altought I have to admit your review does not make me happy at all.

First of all I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your 1 night stay in our hotel. Please note I have already done the investigation regarding your issues with the meal vouchers, breakfast and late check out and I can assure you our staff had been provided with customer service training immediately to avoid such an unnecessary mistakes. Please accept my apology for that.

I can honestly assure you none of our staff members would create vegetarian soup by removing the meat from standard soup at all. This is absolutely unacceptable. Im sorry but the whole situation was probably misunderstood.

After your departure I was contacted by the agency organising your stay to thank us and let us know your party was satisfied by your stay. I was not aware there could be such a disappointment at all. Please note the conference room for the dinner was chosen by the agency in advance just like the menu which was ordered at very low budget.

During the whole year we do host many conferences, events or leisure visitors and there is also many companies coming back every year to organise their event with us. We do have many positive comments and reviews on not only the location but the customer service too.

Dear Guest, should you wish to come back to our beautiful town Tabor and stay with us once more so we could prove to be better than your experience is so far please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Ivana Novotná
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Well situated hotel with parking. Good food - apropriate to hotel level.
Room absolutely horible - dust in corners!, furniture looks very used, cold in the room, toilet not clean inside!)

Generaly - not value for that money

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsolutions, Manager at Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Chantall I,

Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel.

We fully do appreciate your comment as it will help us to provide better and more comfortable stay for our guests. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced in your room. Usually we do not receive any complaints about the cleanliness in our hotel and until now we have been always proud for having all the rooms and public areas in order. We have already changed the system of checking on the rooms more properly to avoid any future disappointment. Should you have contacted our front desk staff we would be more than happy to change the room for you. At this moment all I could do is to hope to welcome you back in hotel Dvorak and to prove it was one very unfortunate experience of yours.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurim
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We spend there three days during our golf trip in South Bohemia. Historical center locality, sensitive historical object reconstruction, private parking are the main positives of this hotel.
In the room no air condition, two small windows near the ceiling, one of them unable to open. Uncomfortable lumpy synthetic pillow on the bed. Bathroom big enough, nevertheless no bins for cosmetic and personal items. Towel was shred after first use and was not replaced during all stay. Wellness in the hotel we could use only twice during our stay. Once was enough: there was black mould covered whirlpool welt.
We looked forward to culinary experience; famous kitchen master was presented on the hotel web. At actuality Mr. Svatek was two months working in another hotel nearby, still present in advertisement of the hotel Dvorak. We experienced his mastery of course in hotel Nautilus.
Fortunately we had breakfast only in hotel Dvorak and it was strange experience. No privacy for couples or friends, big long tables like for party. Food low quality served buffet style, cheese, ham and fruits not steadily stocked. Bakery products waiter catered by uncovered hands, no pitch fork.
Lovely place, hotel is situated in old brewery nicely reconstructed. Unfortunatelly no cost effective and big disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelsolutions, Public Relations Manager at Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,
we apreciate your review and your opinion is very important to us. We are glad that you find our hotel beautiful and we are very sorry you have been disappointed with our services. We take every guest review very seriously as an opportunity to constantly improve quality of our services.
We have made investigations about your complain and we would like to add few word of comment to your review.
For your room related complains – we agree that some of our rooms have smaller windows, but that is a price for reconstruction of historical building which carried certain requirements that had to be met – as you have yourself pointed out, the reconstruction was made very carefully to keep the original look and atmosphere of the historical brewery building. In case our guest is not satisfied with his/her room, our reception does the best to find a different room which would suit him.
Our pillows and blankets are made of quality synthetic micro-fiber to ensure that they are all antiallergic and deliver ultimate sleeping comfort at any season.
We are very sorry, that your towels were not changed during your stay. We have taken steps to prevent this situation in future. In all our rooms, towels are changed daily unless „Do not disturbe“ card left on the door during the day.
We are very sorry for your bad experience with wellness center that was just before planned reconstruction. We have made complete renovations of whole wellness area on the beginning of June and also added brand new service - Beer Spa into our offer – it will be available from July.
We are pleased to introduce Mr. Ondřej Dvořák – our Chef de Cuisine who holds many gastronomical prizes and certainly keeps the high level of food quality our restaurant La Cave is known for. We sincerely appologize for misinformation on our website. The change was already in process and you can find our new tastefull menu created by Mr. Dvořák presented on our website now.
We are taking seriously your complains about quality of our breakfast. We have immediately trained our staff for proper waiting services as well as we have ensured that breakfast buffet is kept full with fresh and tastefull items during whole breakfast time.
We hope that you will give us opportunity to assure you about our perfect services and visit our hotel again in future.


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hotel Dvořák Tábor je velmi hezký hotel se skvělými službami. Gastronomie je nepopsatelná. Kuchaři jsou profesionálové. Obsluha příjemná a vše co jsme si přáli, ve všem nám vyhověli. Skvělé prostředí pro semináře, konference, ale i pro rodinnou večeři v klidném prostředí. Pokud budeme vést jednání, nebo si budeme chtít jen pochutnat na výborném jídle tak jedině zde. Děkujeme

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a valentines special. The room exceeded my expectation and everything was clean and roomy. I travel a lot and I dont even want to count the number of hotels I have been to. Dvorák was very clean, employees very friendly and dinner in La Cave was amazing. Only the breakfast was a let-down. A little contrastfull to the dinner. Dinner had a 5 star feel to it, but breakfast was very poor, bread selection very low and they wouldnt even bring fresh coffee. They had a very old coffee machine you see office buildings and that was it. No sweets and warm milk. I recomend to eat breakfast somewhere else if possible. Pool area is very small, but you get it privatly for an hour which sounded great. On the other hand, it feesl a little dirty since a young couple with tattoos all over their body came out of there before us talking about what they did in the hot-tub. But the employees were great. They even took the extra step to decorate our room with flowers and little stones for valentine´s day. Definitly one of the better czech hotels outside of Prague.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sobotovice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Romantic weekend was affected by many small incompletenesses which were easy to manage but quite surprising in such a nice hotel. Very good restaurant La Cave and perfect location in the center of the city. The Wellness and Relax services of the hotel are placed in a little bit strange and unfriendly basement area... check it before you do the order...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor

Address: Hradebni 3037, Tabor 390 01, Czech Republic (Formerly OREA Hotel Dvorak)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Tabor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tabor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dvorak is situated in the centre of the historical town Tabor. It is characterized by rich history associated with Hussite movement. This hotel is placed in the area of the former brew house, which has been restored recently together with the castle Kotnov and Bechyne's door. These ones are put down in UNESCO organization. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.