We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge suite right on the old town square.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel U Leva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel U Leva to your Saves list
Hotel U Leva
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Namestie Majstra Pavla 25, Levoca 05401, Slovakia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Levoca
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Huge suite right on the old town square.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed here as an overnight stop between Krakow and Budapest. Levoca is a neat walled town in the middle of the Slovakia mountains and Hotel U Leva is right in the middle of it. We stayed in an incredibly large (by European standards) 2 bedroom suite with views of the city. Room was very clean, non smoking and bathrooms upgraded. We had a terrific dinner at the hotel at a very reasonable price. The included breakfast was good. Staff was friendly, spoke English and provided helpful directions. Parking on street was fine overnight although the hotel also has a private lot. Overall it was a very good value. We enjoyed walking out of the hotel and right into the square, historic churches and narrow cobblestone streets. Nearby Spiis Castle and Slovak Paradise National Park were incredible. We wish we would have stayed a few days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

The hotel is right in the center of town. I parked my rental car right in front of the hotel. The service was very good. The room was large and very adequate but I don't think they have AC. The main square was right outside but it was not noisy in the evening. They provided wired internet. There were not enough outlets to plug in my computer and two cell phones. The room was 4o euros and that was a bargain. Breakfast was an extra 5 euros. There were some meats and cheese at your table when you arrived and they would make a few things to order. The selection was a little limited compared to other breakfasts we've had. The only negative was that if you sat in the table on the street that beggar children would come be an annoyance.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I stayed here with my family on our recent trip to Slovakia. We had a double room, complete with kitchen with mini fridge, electric tea kettle, stove, and dining table. Our bathroom had 2 separate rooms, one had the shower, commode and sink and the other had a wonderful bathtub. The location is perfect, right across the street from the Cathedral. The town square was picture perfect and had great shops on it. There was a grocery store just a few stores down and a butcher shop the other way.

We only stayed one night and unfortunately for us, the entire town square was out of water in the morning. This made getting ready rather difficult but the hotel staff was great and even gave us back some money for the inconvenience. They were able to make breakfast however, which was a traditional European breakfast. Great food!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Yes, the reviews are all accurate! We loved our stay at the Hotel U Leva in Levoca. The hotel is a beautifully restored historic building on the town square. The rooms are immaculate, spacious and tastefully designed. The staff is friendly and service oriented, most speak English. The lovely restaurant opens to the town square, and offers delicious food at reasonable prices - the best menu in town, with Italian, traditional Slovakian and vegetarian options, including tasty draft Czech beer and delicious coffee. The only drawback was having to leave and settle for rooms not as nice at our next destination!

The town itself is a historical treasure - with architecture dating back to the 1300s, many of the buildings have been restored. There are numerous castles, the High Tatras and many historic attractions within an hour's drive. Our first two nights in Levoca we were treated with top quality classical music concerts in town. We're glad we discovered this gem, and will definitely be back ~ hopefully in October to check out the world class 'Indian Summer in Levoca' classical music festival. Many thanks to all who made our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed 4 days and warmly recommend this hotel.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, with 2 huge armchairs and a view of the main square.

On our last day we lost an envelope with important documents. They found after we left and kindly airmailed it to our home address.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

I was travelling by car through the length of eastern Europe with my two young daughters.

We stayed 2 nights at the charming 3-star hotel U Leva and we were very comfortable. As it has only been fully open a couple of years (so I was told) it is not listed in the 7th edition of Lonely Planet's Eastern Europe (2003).

I had booked a room for 3 persons and we were given a large suite for the same charge. It was spotlessly clean and good value for money. Our room was on the back of the building which unfortunately looks out on an abandoned building project; however it was quiet. There was (free) off-street parking in between.

We had a nice breakfast with plenty of choice; my 10-year old discovered raw green paprika was delicious with cheese. We had a pleasant evening meal of good value (certainly better food than the 2003 LP's top restaurant recommendation - Restauracia Slovenka - where we had eaten the night before).

So in summary we thought it was a perfect 3-star hotel.

Plus: Levoca is itself an interesting small, walled town and is conveniently located near 3 or 4 other top sites of eastern Slovakia, namely;
Slovensky Raj,
Spissky Hrad,
Spisska Kapitula,
Aquacity thermal spa at Poprad.

  • Liked — Quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — View from the back of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This hotel would have been a great place if it were in the middle of a big city. In the middle of the Slovak countryside, in a small town, it was even better.

The room (for 3 persons) was huge, and included a kitchenette and a separate little room/bed for our teen-aged son. The bathroom had a good shower AND a large bathtub. Everything was clean, and the furniture seemed new.

The staff and owners were gracious and helpful, and spoke very good English.

The attached restaurant was also quite good - we ate there two nights. Both local specialties and fish were tasty.

Though it suffers from the aftereffects of the Soviet economy, Levoca is a beautiful little town that deserves more visitors, both to it and to nearby Spissky Hrad.

  • Liked — How pleasant the people were
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel U Leva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Leva

Address: Namestie Majstra Pavla 25, Levoca 05401, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Levoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Levoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel U Leva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel U Leva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Leva Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel U Leva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.