We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, But Good Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jurate Hotel to your Saves list
Jurate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pamario Str. 3, Nida 93124, Lithuania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nida
Wakefield, MA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Basic, But Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent only 1night at the Jurate Hotel and when we booked it we knew it was going to be a very basic hotel. When you take into consideration the price, location, free breakfast, and free parking it is good enough. Like another reviewer stated there are no elevators or lifts, but I have been traveling around the Baltics for 10 days now and only 1 hotel has had an elevator. The buffet breakfast, while not my favorite on the trip, did have a wide variety of food. The staff were friendly enough for me. I don't expect them to speak English so it doesn't bother me when they don't. When they asked if I spoke German and I said no they did their best to speak to me in the few English words they knew including writing things down. They have free wifi and a tv. No air conditioning. Good location too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Neerpelt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Jurate is nothing special, one step up from a hostel. The rooms are quite spacious and clean, but not very comfortable. There is no lift, and no staff to carry your bags. Reception staff is not very friendly, and doesn't speak English, only German. Choose a room on the first floor and opposite the parking, rooms under the roof are too hot (no airconditioning), others too noisy.

Room Tip: First floor opposite parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was ok but haven't kettle (tea and coffee) on the table. The smallest TV is poor and old. Need updating TV and room!!!
Service is not bad but the staffs unfriendly and strange. Hasn't say HELLO and GOODBYE.
The bathroom is ok, but not soft towels.. I hate it... Why they haven't change towels every morning?!
The breakfast was Lithuanian food, but not clean on the table. You can do BETTER!!!
The parking is very BAD and smallest.

Room Tip: Need updating tv and room and parking. Suit for old poeple in NIDA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed here just 2 nights, but could say it`s more overnight hotel. Perhaps we were off season, but this hotel is not for accommodation for some week, as it seems a bit boring and so standard.

+ rooms was clean and quite good
+ free wi-fi
+ location (could say very near to the bay)

- even in off season in mansard rooms was so hot and nothing to breath, but if you open window, then all night could listen birds (a bit a annoying, but of course it is nature)
- breakfast, again maybe in off season, but nothing to choose - very simple

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and were allocated a 'lux' room which seemed to be larger with a sitting area. The hotel has seen better days and it appears that parts of it have been upgraded. The room was comfortable, looking over the forest at the side of the hotel and a view of the lagoon from the sitting room. The corridors are decorated with a cement with sparkly bits in it - a relic of earlier times! Breakfast was taken in a separate building which felt a bit canteen like. There was an okay choice but items were not replenished that quickly. The hotel is central for everything in Nida. Rented bikes outside the hotel and cycled to Preila the next village. The beaches on the Baltic side of the spit are beautiful and fantastically clean. The Parnidis dune is a short walk from the hotel and certainly worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My stay at the Jurate was short, but it was enough to evaluate the place. It is quiet and centrally located, but then, Nida is a small town, so "centrally located" is not that much value. The hotel is very clean, rooms spacious, breakfast very much OK for Lithuanian standarts, though dining room was a little bit gloomy. However, the hotel did not strike as having much of character and small details, like cheap (and therefore in parts broken) taps and shower appliances (though still serving sufficiently well) were a bit irritating. Absence of elevator may be a problem for people with luggage. If you wave these small things, the price for the room is not that high (having in mind that this is the most expensive resort in the country) it may be a nice enough place for quiet relaxation. There is some lure for nostalgia tourists, reminding them that the place was once called Konigin Louise hotel, with amateurish copies of Louise's and her husband Frederick William portraits on the lobby wall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a central hotel across the lagoon promenade, 3-5 mins stroll from the bus station, tourist information office, zuvis (smoked fish) shop, & maxima supermarket. A bicycle hire point is just outside the hotel, & the beautiful Parnidis dune is a 15-min walk away.

The hotel is light, spacious, but with no lift. The stairs are wide gently inclined, the corridor walls coated with glitter cement. The rooms are light & spacious, with twin beds, reading lights, a wardrobe, desk, chairs & luggage rack. There is no telephone. The small TV has just 4 channels, all in local language. If you are lucky, you could catch something you could follow, like a basketball game or a talent show complete with a teary female judge. Of the 2 windows in the room, one had a Do Not Open sign as the catch appeared broken. There were glimpses of the lagoon from between the trees from the rooms facing the road.

The bathroom did look recently renovated, with shiny wall & white floor tiles, & a white shower cubicle. However the shower fittings were old. It required slow careful fine tuning to get the right temperature for a shower, as there appeared to be a delay with the cold water feed. The shower head riser only stayed put in the lowest pole position. Unfortunately, the shower drain in my room was clogged. I reported it to the Receptionist the first morning with gestures & mime, as she spoke lithuanian & russian, but no english. She appeared to understand, nodded & picked up the telephone, I presumed, to get it fixed. It did not, & the following morning I tried to report it to another Receptionist, who immediately threw up her hands & looked away when I spoke in english & would not engage with my complaint. It was only by running the shower at little more than a trickle that I could use it without it flooding over, which was uncomfortable & disgusting. I reported it once again to a male receptionist before I left, who did speak english. I do not know if the drain ever did get unclogged.

Breakfast is served in a spacious hall next door, & is mainly a cold buffet selection. A good variety of cold cuts of ham, salami & cheeses, boiled egg halves topped with creamy herring, tomato, cucumber, rye bread, bread rolls, & the usual over-processed cereals & watered sugary juice found most everywhere in Lithuania. The hot selection consisted of fried sausage & tasty blinis, like tiny fritters, that appeared from the kitchen by a slow small plateful at a time, worth the wait. Good coffee & a range of black, green & fruit tea sachets to finish, with sliced fruit. The guests at breakfast were a tourist busload, a few couples & a small family. The staff, particularly the lovely dining room lady, & given my limitations with the language, like most lithuanians, were pleasant & courteous to tourists.

To me, this is a 2-star rather than 3-star eastern european hotel, but a good budget option for the location. It would be helpful to go prepared with a few phrases in lithuanian – “The shower drain is clogged, please unblock”, or, “It is cold, please turn on the heating”. These are not ones covered in your average guidebook.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room - they face the lagoon, which can just be viewed through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurate Hotel

Address: Pamario Str. 3, Nida 93124, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Nida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Nida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jurate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.