We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse visiting, very creative.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rates Varti

Rates Varti
Lacplesa iela 1, Valmiera, Latvia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Valmiera
Price range: $7 - $20
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worse visiting, very creative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food, great service, cute atmospher.
Was a huge surprise, we has amazing time.
We will come back for sure!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

One of the very best restaurants we have been to on our month long trip of the eastern and Baltic states. We ar nearing the end of our journey. The decor here was pleasant the, I think owner, was welcoming and the food delicious. Beautifully prepared and served. I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food & sevice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

this was not my first time in this restaurant. as always fantastic food. enjoyed lovely atmosphere a lot. one of my favourite restaurants in latvia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere, perfect place to go out in Valmiera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is perfect place to go out in Valmiera - pretty much loved by locals also. Standard for meals and service is kept high. Could be busy after the theatre performances as is located in front of the venue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera, Latvia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too much to choose from..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is one of few restaurants in town, thus it's keeping up appearances, but I never loved a little bit too much attentive waitresses and menu that is stacked with sooo many dishes, that you can never know which of those to choose (I always doubts on freshness in menus with too many things).
If you choose this place I would not suggest going for overseas dishes they offer, but better choose something very regular Latvian - "karbonāde", rye bread truffle, etc., as this is their specialty as great portions is as well...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rates Varti also viewed

Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
 
Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
 

Been to Rates Varti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rates Varti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.