We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rates Varti

Rates Varti
Lacplesa iela 1, Valmiera, Latvia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Valmiera
Price range: $7 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

One of the very best restaurants we have been to on our month long trip of the eastern and Baltic states. We ar nearing the end of our journey. The decor here was pleasant the, I think owner, was welcoming and the food delicious. Beautifully prepared and served. I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food & sevice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

this was not my first time in this restaurant. as always fantastic food. enjoyed lovely atmosphere a lot. one of my favourite restaurants in latvia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere, perfect place to go out in Valmiera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is perfect place to go out in Valmiera - pretty much loved by locals also. Standard for meals and service is kept high. Could be busy after the theatre performances as is located in front of the venue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera, Latvia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too much to choose from..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is one of few restaurants in town, thus it's keeping up appearances, but I never loved a little bit too much attentive waitresses and menu that is stacked with sooo many dishes, that you can never know which of those to choose (I always doubts on freshness in menus with too many things).
If you choose this place I would not suggest going for overseas dishes they offer, but better choose something very regular Latvian - "karbonāde", rye bread truffle, etc., as this is their specialty as great portions is as well...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera, Valmieras, Latvia
1 review
“City Councils gate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are looking for nice place to drink daily coffee latte or ask your friend out on romantical date „Rātes Vārti” might be just for you. Located near „Dzirnavu ezeriņš” lake with close view of theare gives admirable atmosphere. What would better than drinking cup of tea in vintage designed resturant?
Once you come in you feel welcome surronded by friendly staff and live piano music. When you are ready waitress takes you to your table and gives menu. With hundred of choises it is almost immpossible to choose your meal not even talking about delicate wine list. Waiters are surprisingly calm and they might scare you a little because of their silent walking. And when comes your freshly prepared order you can feel your moth wattering because of appetising aroma and you can wash it all down with sweet-sour red wine from 2007.
When you are done you can go sightseeing around city. Starting near church, continuing to the old castle ruins, on to the riverside. With your associate on your side this evening could take your relantionship to next level and could come out memorable for both of you.
With sophisticated design, incredibly efficient service there is no wonder why „Rātes Vārti” is the best restaurant in Valmiera. The unforgetable experience makes you can not wait to return. Better reserve a table!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rates Varti also viewed

Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
 
Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
Valmiera, Vidzeme Region
 

Been to Rates Varti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rates Varti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.