We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A returning customer: Always good quality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steiku Haoss

Steiku Haoss
Terbatas 41/43, Riga LV-1011, Latvia
+371 67 272 707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 568 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $12 - $61
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Riga
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A returning customer: Always good quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Steiku Haoss in Terbatas Iela is one of the restaurants here in Riga that I am visiting at least once every month. I know that the food I get there is good, no big surprises, and I am always pleased with the service level.

The Chef(s) really know how to make a great steak, and you will get some of the most tender steaks in Latvia at Steiku Haoss. Another positive issue with Steiku Haouss is that they each month got a "monthly special", something that makes the menu more interesting for returning guests like myself.

The negative is that Steiku Haouss is an very expensive restaurant if you compare it to other restaurants in Riga.

If you know that steak is what you want, then Steiku Haoss is the place to visit.

Fun fact: The menu at Steiku Haouss in Terbatas Iela is cheaper than at the Steiku Haouss restaurants in Old Town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    33
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place on the last night of the stag do and we were plesently surprised. The staff were friendly and attentive, i still cant believe they layed the table with white gloves on. The menu was brilliant and none of us could decide what to have. You wont be dissapointed with the food here but it was also the most expensive meal of the weekend.

Try the chicken fingers starter!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Steiku Haoss is a very good steak house, we (the 4 of us) had no reservation and where asked to wait as they wanted to check if the had available table for us. We got one after a short wait (they where still cleaning it when we arrived) on the second floor and I must say that this place seems to be popular because it was full of the locals. The menu offered many kinds of steaks and it was difficult to choose. After choosing a beef we asked the waitress for an advice with the wine and she recommended Argentinian Malbec that fitted the steak perfectly. The service was excellent, quick and lively. There was live country music this evening to make things even better.
The check was a bit higher than I expected (partly because of the wine) but it was worth it.
It's easy to recommend this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Extremly overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant is neither good nor bad. The steaks are of average quality, depending on your luck you can get a good or a bad piece of meat and there is a good selection of wines by the glass. Waiters are friendly and service is efficient.

What you pay at the end of the dinner is certainly not what you would expect for a meal of above mentioned quality but two to three times more than that. This restaurant is so overpriced in everything that even its good location can not account for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went as a large group of around 20. We were put in our own room in the basement that we did not really mind as we could just enjoy ourselves and not worry about other guests. The drinks kept flowing and the food all turned up at the same time and was of excellent quality. The staff were also very nice. Cost wise it may have been a bit pricey but hey its great food so did not really mind!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steiku Haoss also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Steiku Haoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steiku Haoss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.