We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tiger Hostel to your Saves list
Tiger Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   31 Raina bulvaris, Riga 1082, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
MAnchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed here in October 2011. The hostel is around 10 minute walk from the main bus station and Old Town. The hostel is very easy to find as its on one of the main roads with a bar below underground.

The reception and hotel is very clean and basic. The staff were very helpfull.

We had a triple room which was very nice and very clean. The beds were slightly uncomfortable but what do you expect for £8 each per night. The shared bathroom was clean and was also very nice. The computer in the room had free internet but was very very slow and took ages to load.

Overall I would say 4 out of 5 and we would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
6
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was staying at the Tiger hostel for 3 weeks. For that period it became as home for me. :) Thank you very much to everyone who works there! The conditions are really good for so perfect price. I had everything clean and fresh.Hostel's staff is very friendly and nice!
Hope to go there again in one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

All the design corresponds to the name - even the bed linen and cushions. Really cute. Located close to the railway station which is convenient if you travel by train and stay only for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in this hostel for 1 night during August 2011 with a few friends, so my experience is limited. We rented a 4 person private room. It was very affordable.

I consider this an average hostel. The staff (we only met 1 person during our stay) seemed reserved but nice. Not very open to having conversation but she still answered any questions/requests.

The room was clean and had ample space for 4 people and luggage. There was a safe in the room. The only downside was that the street outside was somewhat loud (we were on the second floor) when the window was open. Tiger motif was a bit overwhelming - think tiger print linens and decor. Showers were solid and had ample hot water. We didn't meet any other travelers while there, since it was a quick stay and we were out at all hours of day and night, so I can't comment on the mix of visitors you will encounter.

Overall this was a safe, clean, affordable hostel. The best part of it is the location. Very easy to get around town from this point. While it's not in the center of the old town, its within easy walking distance and it's a solid value for any budget-minded traveler. If you are looking for a hostel with a party vibe and nightlife, I would look elsewhere as this one was somewhat quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed in this hostel in October 2010. There were a lot free beds and rooms, so we were upgraded from 8-beds dorm to 4beds room. Showers and toilets are outside of all rooms; but they are clean and comfortable, no problems with hot water. The hostel is situated very close to the tran station, big shopping mall and 10 minutes walking to Old city. In lobby area you can find different tourist information, booklets, broshures and books. There're computers (actually, too old) with free internet access in each room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I initially picked this hostel purely on its location just outside the Old Town as I didn't want a noise party place. It was a great decision. The location was perfect, located between the Old Town and New Town and right on a beautiful canal. Shops, supermarkets and bus and train stations were only a few minutes walk away.

I really enjoyed my time there and ended up staying longer than planned. I had a bed in a nice, bright, spotless room in a 3 bed dorm, WiFi and a computer was available in the room. The bed was really comfortable with good bedding. The kitchen, bathrooms and WCs were very clean and the plumbing worked! Security was good and there are individual bed safes for small valuables. Staff were pleasant and approachable.

There is absolutely no reason to think that you must only stay in the Old Town, there's so much more to Riga than that. I would definitely stay at Tiger Hostel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The HAgue
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hostel is perfect. It is precisely what you like to find when you are budget travelling. It's clean, quiet, with good (gender-separate) bathrooms. It has a nice kitchen and it is situated in a wonderful place of the city. Every room has a PC with internet access. The tiger motives are ...er... unexpected, but at the end they are kinda fun.
Not a single complaint.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiger Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Hostel

Address: 31 Raina bulvaris, Riga 1082, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tiger Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tiger Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.