We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in the whole the World!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tiger Hostel to your Saves list
Tiger Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   31 Raina bulvaris, Riga 1082, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
“The best hostel in the whole the World!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was staying at the Tiger hostel for 3 weeks. For that period it became as home for me. :) Thank you very much to everyone who works there! The conditions are really good for so perfect price. I had everything clean and fresh.Hostel's staff is very friendly and nice!
Hope to go there again in one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
7
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

All the design corresponds to the name - even the bed linen and cushions. Really cute. Located close to the railway station which is convenient if you travel by train and stay only for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in this hostel for 1 night during August 2011 with a few friends, so my experience is limited. We rented a 4 person private room. It was very affordable.

I consider this an average hostel. The staff (we only met 1 person during our stay) seemed reserved but nice. Not very open to having conversation but she still answered any questions/requests.

The room was clean and had ample space for 4 people and luggage. There was a safe in the room. The only downside was that the street outside was somewhat loud (we were on the second floor) when the window was open. Tiger motif was a bit overwhelming - think tiger print linens and decor. Showers were solid and had ample hot water. We didn't meet any other travelers while there, since it was a quick stay and we were out at all hours of day and night, so I can't comment on the mix of visitors you will encounter.

Overall this was a safe, clean, affordable hostel. The best part of it is the location. Very easy to get around town from this point. While it's not in the center of the old town, its within easy walking distance and it's a solid value for any budget-minded traveler. If you are looking for a hostel with a party vibe and nightlife, I would look elsewhere as this one was somewhat quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed in this hostel in October 2010. There were a lot free beds and rooms, so we were upgraded from 8-beds dorm to 4beds room. Showers and toilets are outside of all rooms; but they are clean and comfortable, no problems with hot water. The hostel is situated very close to the tran station, big shopping mall and 10 minutes walking to Old city. In lobby area you can find different tourist information, booklets, broshures and books. There're computers (actually, too old) with free internet access in each room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I initially picked this hostel purely on its location just outside the Old Town as I didn't want a noise party place. It was a great decision. The location was perfect, located between the Old Town and New Town and right on a beautiful canal. Shops, supermarkets and bus and train stations were only a few minutes walk away.

I really enjoyed my time there and ended up staying longer than planned. I had a bed in a nice, bright, spotless room in a 3 bed dorm, WiFi and a computer was available in the room. The bed was really comfortable with good bedding. The kitchen, bathrooms and WCs were very clean and the plumbing worked! Security was good and there are individual bed safes for small valuables. Staff were pleasant and approachable.

There is absolutely no reason to think that you must only stay in the Old Town, there's so much more to Riga than that. I would definitely stay at Tiger Hostel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The HAgue
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hostel is perfect. It is precisely what you like to find when you are budget travelling. It's clean, quiet, with good (gender-separate) bathrooms. It has a nice kitchen and it is situated in a wonderful place of the city. Every room has a PC with internet access. The tiger motives are ...er... unexpected, but at the end they are kinda fun.
Not a single complaint.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Since hotels in Riga are not cheap, hostels are a good idea for those on a restricted budget. The Tiger hostel is cheap but offers a high standard of facilities. Its kitchen has a fridge, mugs and crockery and even tea and coffee. My food did not get stolen in the 3 days I was there.
There is a computer with internet in every room and the connection was great.
It is just outside the old town very close to the station but that does not mean a red-light area. It is also about 10 minutes walk from the Stockmann centre where the no 22 bus from the airport drops off passengers. Friends who stayed in the old town complained about the noise that went on all night. The old town is an easy walk away.
For those wanting a good night's sleep the hostel is ideal. The other guests were friendly but not rowdy.
They ask for payment within 24 hours of arrival but are very uncomplicated about checking in and out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#33 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.5 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Funky Hostel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Seagulls Garret Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Hostel

Address: 31 Raina bulvaris, Riga 1082, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tiger Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Tiger Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.