We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterosso

Monterosso
Valnu iela 9, Riga, Latvia
+371 67 507 170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 568 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $12 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: One of the oldest restaurants in Riga, «Monterosso» was established in 1913. After re-opening in 2000 it quickly became a favorable dining place for sophisticated locals and international visitors alike. Carrying the heritage of it’s past into today’s glamour, «Monterosso» brings true Italian cuisine to the heart of Old Riga. Our elegant interiors are complemented with a la carte menu created by world renowned chef Patrick Pages. Patrick is a rarity – he is a French chef who understands the fundamentals, essentials, and desirable taste of Italian food. Several years that he spent in Italy made him a true connoisseur of Mediterranian cuisine. Patrick’s background as a leading chef in France and his cooking experience in many European countries as well as in Japan, South America, and Africa ensure that only purity and freshness of the best ingredients shine through to create superb food served in our restaurant. A menu at «Monterosso» is complemented by the finest wine list in Riga. Our wine cellar carries a stock of a few thousand bottles of wine carefully selected from all over the world.
Stratford Upon Avon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was a lovely restaurant. We could hear people around us speaking Italian, which is a good recommendation for an Italian restaurant. Staff were attentive and spoke perfect English. Food was delicious - try the black pasta with seafood.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    6
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, real Italian, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Monterossa has excellent Italian food, and the waitress was fast and very attentive. The restaurant deserves a higher spot on the list. Only downside was the price. Not the cheapest spot in Riga...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had lunch here and really enjoyed every minute of it. The weather helped tremendously and made the outside seating area very pleasant. The staff were friendly and efficient. Food was tasty. I notice on other reviews that price was an issue, as I was only in Riga for a short time I didn't manage to establish local baseline for costs so can't relate it to other places (was in line with other restaurant I was in but both may be expensive in any case I was happy with what I got)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not at all worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Way overrated! There are much better places to go to regards to the food and especially at this price. For the same money visit Pinot instead! KIID whine bar (not normal KIID) is also a far better option.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oldest Italian in town, good food at an elevated price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Monterosso has a dark and overloaded interior but you ca also sit outside. It is the oldest Italian restaurant in town. The quality of food and the service is good. Prices are about one third higher than comparable restaurants Neiburgs or Tiramisu. If you are looking for very good Italian food at a reasonable price, consider taking a taxi to go to Tiramisu.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterosso also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Monterosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.