We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roofs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Red Roofs Hotel to your Saves list
Red Roofs Hotel
6 Jana iela, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in August 2010 for three nights. The hotel has great location in the heart of Riga Old City. Staff were very polite and helpful. The room was simple but rather clean. The only problem we had in this hotel - the internet was not working during all our stay - neigther wi-fi, no the shared computer near reception. So we had to take our notebooks and go to look for free wi-fi cafe in the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    3
    11
See reviews for
1
12
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Was staying at this hotel for second time. 1 year ago this place was fun. Now - horrible stains on carpets, shared toilets - needs renovation, but mainly i am dissapointed in staff. Girl who worked daytime (tall one) was talking only with my boyfriend,totally ignoring me and my questions.....If this is acceptable by hotel manager then i don't understand it... Night staff (young girl, i think she was russian) was total dissapointment - was so misserable that we hated to ask her something. Have no idea what happened to this place,where are gone all the nice staff that worked there???
And we heard that some client was robbed while staying there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

i had a single room small but ok for my needs a shame that they were rebuilding the toilets next door to my room the location was ideal for seeing the old town and the staff are friendly and helpful i would recommend this place for anybody on a budget

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

+ very good location, 5 minute walk to all sights
+ small but comfortable double room ensuite (can't say anithing about dorms): big bed, clean sheets, towels and bathrobes, hot shower
+ friendly hostess, told and gave us all nesessary things
+ tasty Italian trattoria next door to hostel (you can go there through hostel)

- rather cold in rooms in early April, but we got heater as soon as had asked
- not so bright light in room as we wished


Generally it's hostel with good value for its location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I can sincerely recommend this place!

Hotel/hostel located in the center of Old Town with affordable options to choose from. Clean and cozy rooms. And very friendly and helpful staff!
Minus point for backpackers may be lacking of proper lounge bar of hostel. But hey, fifty meters down the road you can find living room for your taste if you will.. Check out Cafe Leningrad.

Downstairs next door is a good quality but yet again affordable restaurant. Not the cheapest one, but not the most expensive either. And food has been worth every penny all the time I´ve been there.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roofs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roofs Hotel

Address: 6 Jana iela, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Hotel in a quiet and green street in rightmost center of Riga's Old Town. Friendly, international staff (we speak Latvian, Russian, Swedish, Norwegian, German fluent) clean, recently renovated rooms and suites (Family rooms> 35 sq.) awaiting you. In our house you find a bier- and wine bar, one of Riga’s best restaurants and a small Club in the basement. Don’t hesitate to contact us prior arrival in any matter. If you need help planning your cultural activities in beautiful Latvia we can organize trip’s to the country side, guided tours to the Old town and Museums, Opera and concert tickets, a SPA package, hockey or football visit’s or a Pub tour. Of course we have free internet and our bar shows all major sport events such as Premiere- or Bundesleague. In the basement we have a smoking club and we sell cigars for those who fancy it. Business customers can use our conference room (if free) and can get access to high speed internet. Next to our hotel you find Galleria Center, one of the most exclusive Shopping Centers in the Baltic’s and the only one in the Old Town. In any case we will try to make your stay the best … so you recommend us further or better … you always come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Red Roofs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roofs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.