We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ohhhh” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 1739

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
1739
Skarnu iela 6,, Riga, Latvia
(+371) 721 13 98
Improve this listing
Ranked #366 of 507 restaurants in Riga
Restaurant details
Treviso, Italy
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
1,010 helpful votes 1,010 helpful votes
“ohhhh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food was extremely light and, about the quantity, extremely poor (I thought to eat air). Service inexistent: I had to call many times the waiter, and to speak aloud, but no reply. No wine list, neither water. The table had horrible mise en place, and the chairs were covered with dust. In effect, this restaurant is closed up, and on the door there is a notice with a phone number and TO SELL. I wrote those nonsense because, for TA, it's not possible to merely give important news, but you have to write some review

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

31% Recommend
    3
    2
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old City, Old food ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very well positioned in the center of Riga.
Small menu, we have choosen for Latvian main course.
It was sour, it was small, it was fat, it was NOT Latvian...
Just a tourist restaurant to rip off tourists asap.
Friendly service, but that was it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location but average service and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stopped for lunch at 1739 on our first day in Riga- The word that comes to mind for our experience there is indifferent- The wait staff was pleasant, but not overly interested in serving us, the food was not especially tasty. Portion sizes were small to adequate. The location is convenient to the Old Town area, and from prior reviews, it seems that there may be better service inside rather than outside where we sat for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average but acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went with a small group and we were very friendly 'especially the guys, the waitress was less friendly to the girls of the group).
The fod was acceptable from the point of quality but very small from the point of size. I can recommand for a fast and small lunch.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Cozy, quiet, clean, good portions and tasty menu. Latvian cuisine blended with live piano music and a warm mood.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1739 also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to 1739? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1739, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.