We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long time favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vincents

Vincents
19 Elizabetes, Riga, Latvia
+371 6733 2830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 613 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $110
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A long time favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Vincents has long been at the top of the list of Riga restaurants. When it opened 19 years ago, there wasn't even a list... My first visit was 15 years ago.... Now there is competition, but Vincents still holds top spot. The owner chef Martins Ritens is a master of slow cooking, and highly creative. His farm to table sourcing ensures excellent product, and his excellent staff know every detail about each dish. On our latest visit, we introduced our teenage daughters to the restaurant, and they loved it.
The menu changes frequently, but this time 3 of us had the steaks which are always an option, and much loved. I had the pigeon baked in a salt pastry crust, which was tender and juicy, not so easy to achieve with pigeon.
My daughter enjoyed a chocolate dessert that looked like a snowball on arrival. She loved it. The rest of us had a selection of Amadei chocolates, which are always excellent.
We will be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    47
    27
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Vincents is a fantastic place, excellent cuisine, excellent service, personal and friendly attitude. I was amazed that the chef himself was greeting and serving his guests. Mr. Martins Ritins is a super professional working wonders with usual and unusual products. I was really lucky to have dinner there because it is a popular place and I placed reservation only one day before having dinner there (the usual practice is two days in advance). I had a fantastic dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Riga! High class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were here for company dinner. And its definitely restaurant with masterpiece cuisine! Every dish is a complement, perfectly fullfilled and brilliantly served!
High class restaurant for extra high price!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An amazing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have been for dinner with my wife and son (12 years old). We had the menu which was focused on fish and we found everything original and delicious. The service was excellent and in particular our waiter was very good in explaining all courses.
Overall a wonderful and memorable dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greatest meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I took my girlfriend away for her birthday to Riga and I can honestly say we both had the best dinning experience ever! The food was incredible, the entertainment you get with staff making sorbets with liquid nitrogen + MORE was 10/10, will always remember this and would recommend this restaurant to everyone!!!! BRILLIANT

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincents also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Vincents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vincents, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.