We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the Old Town and bus station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avalon to your Saves list
Hotel Avalon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Kaleju Street | or 13 Janvara str. 19, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the Old Town and bus station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We spent a night at the Avalon hotel and liked it. From outside, the building is nothing to write home about - but it has been completely modernised inside and is quite trendy, with a great lobby area.

The rooms were clean and spacious, the bathrooms were less spacious but still modern and very clean. There was wireless internet which was great. The service was also good. We got the room + dinner meal deal, which meant that we had a dinner free, which was very welcome.

One of the positive points about this hotel is its great location just on the outskirts of the Old Town. This makes the Old Town easily accessible. However, the hotel is also a 3-minute walk from the bus station, which is great if you're going on to Tallinn, Vlinius, or another destination by bus.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    201
    68
    10
    3
See reviews for
55
186
64
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in Dec 09. Really nice hotel and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Hotel has a good location which allows you to explore the city on foot. The old part of the town is nice and there are lots of places to eat and drink. Sampled the local Black Balsam drink but it wasn't for me. Only thing I will advise is, Ladies, beware and keep your handbag safe cause pick pockets are rife.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

The Avalon hotel is value for money. Certain floors the rooms are very unusual coz when you enter there are steps leading to the bed. Can be dangerous if you are not careful.. Bathroom spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was very good, and each day we were given a surprise dish different from the normal spread. The staff are very friendly, courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel is so centrally located that we had no problem finding our way to the Old Town and back. The bus 22 from the airport stops outside of Stockmann shopping department, and you need to walk 3 mins back through the underpass to the hotel. The bus 22 to take you back to the airport literally stops outside the hotel. Within walking distance you can get to the big departmental shop called Stockmann where you can buy literally everything, the main Central maket is just across the railway lines. If you fancy a tram (No. 5) ride into town it is just at your doorstep. We didn't spend a lot on Taxis. Bus fare 0.60 sentimes and tram fares 1.10 Lat. Will visit Riga again when the weather is much warmer... There's lots to see in Riga... Keep up the good value and rating Avalon Team.....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Quite large room in a modern building, minutes away from the beautiful old town, Avalon was definitely a good choice. The only negative point is breakfast, with a limited continental choice and quite cheap quality (bread, jam, etc). But i would return in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed there for a few days during the holidays. The hotel was standard but nice and clean with helpful personnel. However, special offer with fruits and champaign turned to be bad-prepared.
The restaurant at the hotel is great, though breakfast could be much better.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We choose this hotel because of its position, near to old town but accessible comfortably with the car. This hotel stays exactly at the border of the old town, so you have two entrances - one from modern side and one from old side. From old side you get directly to pedestrian area. We were really happy about our stay. The hotel is new, with modern furniture, spacious rooms and the hall. The reception staff was extremely helpful. The photos that you see on their website are very real. I would definitely return in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centallo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The hotel is really nice, the dinner amazing and Anna is the best receptionist ever!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Address: 70 Kaleju Street | or 13 Janvara str. 19, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Business Hotel in Riga
#11 Family Hotel in Riga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avalon 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.