We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avalon to your Saves list
Hotel Avalon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Kaleju Street | or 13 Janvara str. 19, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Excellent hotel in an ideal location to explore Riga. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, with a free Wi-Fi that works fine. Buffet breakfast is top class with a wide range of good foods to cater for all tastes. the staff were very helpful, speaking good English as well. Great value for money this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    201
    68
    10
    3
See reviews for
55
186
65
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Really nice location to combine a tour in riga and near by cities. Clean rooms and friendly service.
If it was a little bit cheaper i will rated with 5 stars.Breakfast was ok without offering something really special.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, N.Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great location, short walk to old town and shopping centres. Room a bit small but clean and ok. Staff very friendly, restaurant and bar very good. Very easy to get to from the airport.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor had steps in it which was a little inconvenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is a bit "on the side" from the city, but with easy access by car and train. Short walk to the old town. Service at the reception was wonderful, friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and comfortable, with good soundproofed windows. We had booked a room with a dinner included, but I would not choose the same again.
Dinner was awful! We ordered (and paid for, drinks were not included) a bottle of San Pellegrino and got it luke warm, which I would not consider THAT bad if it was just tab water... From the dinner list we had the pork with mashed potatoes, pork was small and dry and the mash was like rubber. I would have gladly paid for a decent dinner in some other restaurant. Besides, some of the dishes from the dinner list were served at the breakfast next morning- for free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel in itself is pretty good, nothing special to report. Clean and cosy rooms, good staff.
The hotel restaurant is really something. Totally worth the try even as a standalone restaurant. Excellent food and drinks, and an outstanding service worth the four stars of the hotel. Prices aren't too steep either, so I'd gladly recommend it.
Besides, the breakfast is prepaired and served by the restaurant's staff in the morning, so you won't regret it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was a great experience. Breakfast and dinner where complete and delicious. The service at the bar was great. Our rooms where always clean, towels where extremely white. The hotel is also very close to the market and historic downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

In the historic district near the riverfront, this hotel offers great location.
Nearby is St.Peters Church and beautiful House, Guild of the Blackheads.
Our double room included a queen bed, writing desk & chairs, minibar, coffee/tea maker and safe. A/C and free Wi-Fi was good. The ironing facilities, was a surprise. A good size bathroom with all the amenities. Buffet breakfast and dinner was included in the price, quite reasonable.
Helpful and knowledgeable staff. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Address: 70 Kaleju Street | or 13 Janvara str. 19, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#9 Business Hotel in Riga
#11 Family Hotel in Riga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avalon 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.