We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A professional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hanza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Elijas street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 hotels in Riga
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A professional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our suite was on the ground floor and had the disadvantage of being beside the dining terrace (used for musical entertainment) and the outside smoking area, so a touch noisy and smelly in the late evening. (Not a Johnny Cash fan so the "tribute" singer who did everything in a Cash style was a little wearing)
The hotel is close to both the bus station and rail station so ideally suited for exploring, also a gentle stroll from both Old and New Towns. Staff are knowledgeable and eager to help. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, internet access is via an unsecured connection.
Breakfast is served in the Pub and can be taken out onto the terrace, choice is varied and there is something to suit all tastes.
Warning: the hotel doesn't "do stamps".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    219
    47
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
161
50
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Agree with other comments - reasonable size bedroom & bathroom (excellent shower) and breakfast offered a very good choice. c. 15 mins from Old Town, but you know that when you book. We took the Air Baltic bus from airport to bus station (good service and c. 5 mins walk from hotel). However, when we arrived at the bus station, we found that one of our cases had disappeared en route. Bus driver said he would report it to the company, and hotel staff were really helpful, first in contacting the bus company and later in calling the police so we could report the loss. (Police returned the case later that night - goodness knows where it had been). On our last day we got back to our room to find that the lights weren't working. We had a table booked for dinner, but mentioned it to the receptionist on the way out - she would have offered us another room, but they were fully booked. By the time we got back, she had checked the fuse box and reset it, so everything was working. Also helped us to get boarding passes for the return journey. Always charming, and couldn't have been more helpful. What more can you ask?

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were very happy with the one we were given
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel, as a couple, for 9 days and was really happy with it: the room on the fifth floor was spacious, with a magnificent view of “the biggest wooden church in the baltic region”. It had an adequate bathroom, a good double bed, (but, alas, separate blankets), enough cabinet space, a small TV and free WiFi but no fridge, coffee maker, iron/iron board or safe (you can get “safe services” at the reception). The quality of sleep was excellent - the vicinity of the hotel is very quiet, with no passing traffic.

The breakfast was, by my book, very good - I have paid more for less. The breakfast room doubles at the evenings as a fine restaurant and there’s a pleasant veranda outside, with a view of the above mentioned church and live performances on weekends.

The hotel resides in a quiet, a bit rundown neighborhood, about 7 minutes walk from the central market and another 7 minutes to the town center. We encountered a drunk or two on our daily walks from and to the hotel - but i’m sure it can happen anywhere.

In conclusion: Hanza hotel “quirks it had a few, but then again, too few to mention” and I highly recommend it.

One piece of advice: if you want to see real Riga, get up around 7 o’clock in the morning, go to the market, buy a strong black coffee (be warned - in a thin plastic cup) for 15 centi-something and take a walk around the wakening up marketplace. In one hour you will learn more about Riga and its hard working people than in a week spent at the tourist trap called Old Riga.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

the hotel is very close to the beautiful Riga market which is unmissable and
The old town is around 15 minutes walk.
Rooms are quite big and clean. Lots of choice for breakfast.because the hotel was fully booked we had it in the pub, in the basement.
They have a terrace in the street and at weekends they host live music.
In the reception there is a pc all customers can use free of charge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pleasant foyer and bar. The rooms are pretty ordinary but clean and well maintained. There's tv and with free Wifi but not much else. What caused me to write this review was the excellent service I got at the Hanza. I asked to change rooms for no particular reason and they gave me the choice of four others. I managed to leave my mobile there and they located it and posted it back to me without any charge.

The immediate area is a bit shabby - there's a street market between the hotel and the old town (about a 10 min walk away) which seems to get some negative comments in reviews, but it's just a typical market - bustling during the day and deserted after dark. The whole area seemed quiet at night - the only disturbance was a drunken guest trying to get into the room at 4 am on Sun morning, but that's Riga.

If frienliness and service are more important to you than a high spec room, then this is a great choice, and very good value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was an OKish hotel but I think better value is to be had in Riga. It is clean and adequate but no more than that. The room was characterless, tired and facilities minimal, not even tea and coffee making in the room. Staff were also OK but not outstanding. Breakfast was quite good with a lot of variety but on my second morning, a Saturday, did not begin till eight which meant it was too late as I had a business meeting. Requested a take away breakfast which consisted of lots of dry bread with some processed cheese and ham and an apple. The hotel is located in what seems like a quiet square, a good fifteen to twenty minutes walk from the centre of Riga. However, I had one of the worse nights of sleep in a hotel ever. Constant noise of cars revving, loud talking, blasts of music went on till after two thirty in the morning and then some. It was hot and no A/C so needed the windows open not that shutting them would have made a lot of difference. I think the noise came from the surrounding area, which a taxi driver told me was not the best in Riga. Would not return as I ended my business trip to Riga feeling very tired and wishing I'd stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good large room, with decent sized bathroom - nice decor. TV and wifi in room. Only thing missing was coffee making facility in room but otherwise lovely. Helpful staff who were very happy to sort us some breakfast out - when we had misread the time (on weekdays, breakfast finishes at 10am).
Within walking distance to old town (about 15-20 minutes).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: 7 Elijas street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 102 hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center, this is one of the newest hotels in Riga, a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.