We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanza Hotel to your Saves list
Hanza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Elijas street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Finland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights in March 2013 and found hotel to be really worth the money. Hanza hotel is situated about 5 minutes by foot from Stockmann department store (where eg. airport busses stop), behind Central Market (old zeppelin hangars). Surrounding buildings are not all yet in very good condition, but if it does not matter to you, location is good. It takes about 10 minutes to walk either to old town or to "new" town.
Building is old, but recently renovated, rooms are spacious, warm and clean. Breakfast was very good.
There is also a spa and a pub/restaurant in the hotel, but as we did not use them, I cannot say more about them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    207
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
188
59
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hanza Hotel however a few bits did let it down. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the city.

The pub downstairs had good food but not so great service (only one waiter in the place and he had been working since the morning alone!). There was no vegetarian options on the menu but the chef cooked a meal specially which was lovely! I would also definitely recomend a hot chocolate there!

There is a spa in the hotel but compared to UK prices it is expensive, we decided to treat ourselves to a sana and steam (14 Lats per person) however the sana was cold, we asked one of the spa workers who could not help and could not find someone who could.

We also had a broken extractor fan in our bathroom so everything got wet when you showered, this was not helped by having a realively small bathroom in comparison to the room. The shower is also next to a built in hair dryer which got soaked everytime you used the shower (a bit dangerous we thought!).

The location could be better but the city is small so it is easy to get into the nicer areas by foot.

It was usefull having free parking as we hired a car and didn't have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

as per the title! hotel was great, all staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms was big and clean and comfortable, bathroom was modern and very clean , all round was exceptional experience.worked out at £12 per person inc breakfast!

riga on the other hand is very much different experience, it dark depressing place where and smile or the sound of laughter from a latvian person is as common as a Elvis sighting!!! riga isnt cheap!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a 7 night 4 hotel tour of the Baltics.

Very good standard of hotel with a decent spa, good pub restaurant and clean modern decor. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast which would easily compare with most other 4-5 star hotels in Europe and better than most.

Service was very good with all staff very courteous and happy/eager to help. The only slight drawback is location, in the Moscow suburb of the city. Returning to the from the old city you have to walk pretty much through the old central market which at night might appear a little daunting.

At no time did I feel under pressure or in any way threatened or intimidated but could understand why some might. I did not see any homeless, vagrancy, or any other intimidating behaviour in the many times I walked this way.

In fact the central market is housed in 5 old Zeppelin Bomber dangers which one should add to their sightseeing itinerary anyway.

Thumbs up to the Hanza Hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was excellent value for money, located in a great part of the city. In particular, each morning could start with a walk through the must-see central market, which is between the hotel and the old city.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. If some people think that they are perhaps not that friendly, I would suggest it is because of their level of command of English (which, by the way, is a lot, lot better than most visitors' command of Latvian!) rather than an unfriendly attitude.

As for earlier comments about location, then if you are looking to spend late nights out in the old part of the city, drinking, being loud and generally drawing attention to yourselves, then I suspect walking back in the wee small hours might could potentially attract unwanted attention, as it would in any city in the world. However, we walked backwards and forwards at all times of day and up to 11pm at night and found it to be perfectly safe. Indeed, more safe than I would feel in most UK towns and cities at that time of night!

The rooms themselves are perfectly adequate and the breakfast is superb....fill yourself up on this and you won't be wanting much at lunchtime! Some comments have been made on various reviews about hearing other rooms through the walls.....this could be true but, again, the fault lies not with the hotel but with guests who decide to be loud and obnoxious.

Finally, as I mentioned above, Riga is a lovely city, populated by friendly, down-to-earth people. When you see the Brits arriving for drinking weekends, you realise that the locals have to put up with a lot of ignorant behaviour, but they do this with good grace. Avoid the obviously dodgy clubs, don't drink until you fall over, act like a local instead of a tourist and you will have a lovely time enjoying what this city has to offer. And take a trip to the Museum of Occupation to get an insight into the tough past that the people have had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbglas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been to Riga a few times so I know my way around all the main sights. I picked Hanza as it offered a very convenient location and offered the best value for a single traveller with breakfast included. Situated just behind the magnificent Russian designed Latvia Science Institute Hanza is no more than a few minutes walk from the well known Stockmann department store where the No22 bus drops you off from the airport for just 50 cents. It's very close to Central Market, the old town with all the tourist sites and the Origo Shopping Centre and train station. All in all a perfect just off centre location in a nice quiet street.

My room was quite small with just enough room for a double bed and not much else! The bed was very comfortable and I had a nice LCD TV with some English channels to keep abreast of the news. The bathroom was a generous size with under-floor heating and a very stylish corner shower and was hand basin (see pictures). Soap and shampoo were provided and the room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.

Hanza staff are very helpful and welcoming and the hotel has a spa and massage facility which is free at certain times of the year. The corridors and reception area are very clean and bright with some extras including electronic city guide and a shoe cleaning machine which was handy after walking through the snow in February. The hotel had WiFi everywhere I needed it including my room, reception area and the pub where breakfast is served daily.

Breakfast was not just 'continental', there was a full range of hot and cold foods every day which was varied. Different types of rolls, breads and croissants, cheese, cooked meats, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits, sausages, bacon, boiled, scrambled and egg omelettes as well as lovely potato cakes and pancakes with preserves and honey. They offer a range of coffee and teas and it would be hard not to be able to find something to your taste from the huge selection on offer. Breakfast was included in the price of my room which made a good deal even better value. A nice touch is the breakfast times. 7AM - 10AM Monday to Friday but 8AM until Midday on Saturday and Sunday. Perfect for those who want to enjoy the nightlife in Riga at the weekend!

I would be happy to stay at Hanza again in the future and would have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms don't have a great view so perhaps one upstairs might offer a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I found the hotel did what it said on the tin, it was clean, simple and quiet if a 10-15min walk from the centre of Riga. It is good value for money and the breakfast is a highlight.
The service in the hotel was good if a little formal and the food was okay. However if you choose the beer-nachosi combo be prepared for no salsa or cheese.
The showers also have a quirk which means they run scolding hot and then cold.
Overall i would recommend the hotel but do not expect anything above what is advertised

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: 7 Elijas street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center, this is one of the newest hotels in Riga, a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.