We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining with an interesting menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muusu

Muusu
Antonijas street 13 | entrance from Alberta street, Riga 1010, Latvia
+371 26 699 966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 614 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Muusu is a story of values developed through years of experience. We praise beauty and comfort; every detail counts. The Nordic interior – clean lines, raw brick walls, linen fabrics and wood in combination with metal is an exquisite background for that which is essential – the food and our emotions.The Muusu menu offers the values of contemporary European cuisine. Try seasonal highlights, such as asparagus gel and local delights – goat’s cheese foam or grilled venison meat in a juniper berry port wine sauce. The Muusu chef Ainārs Volodka has previously worked in one of the best restaurants in the world, the famous Noma in Copenhagen. In Riga he has gathered a team of creative professionals. The Muusu ascetic plates manufactured in the Rauna brick kiln are just like a canvas to paint on.Late brunch, a business dinner, an evening with friends or a very special occasion – The Muusu restaurant is like a chameleon, adapting to and supporting your different emotions. We would like to take the liberty to warn you that your time will fly on Muusu sofas.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining with an interesting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited Muusu on a wet Sunday evening after reading a review in a tourist brochure. The restaurant is relatively new and was not particularly busy enabling us to get a nice table inside.

Our waiter was very professional, helpful,knowledgable and enthusiastic about both the menu and the wine list. The menu was a foodie delight using seasonal and mostly local ingredients but with interesting twists. (Tomato sorbet as part of an entree and a beetroot cheese cake as a desert option.) Both were as delightful as they were unexpected.

If you are in Riga and want a fine dining experience at a reasonable price you should try Muusu.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    26
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vayrac, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

As a frequent visitor to Riga, I am always on the lookout for new places to eat. I had tried this relatively new restaurant earlier this year and thought I'd go again. My companion decided she didn't want to eat anything but my food was very good, though the vegetables were slightly over-cooked. Best of all was the attentive service: here was a waiter who genuinely seemed to want me to enjoy the food and wine...or maybe it was just good acting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excelent service, great quality/price standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Riga is still a cheap capital for tourism, despite the last jannuary introduction of Euro, and the food quality is high. Therefore restaurant almost always offer a nice deal; Muusu, in the very centre of the art nouveau block, adds also very high level service attentions to its customers and a pretty nice atmosphear. For sure Ill be back next time in Riga.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Slow food doesn't mean haute cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice restaurant, We picked the lamb as main dish and asked it to be "rosée" as lamb should be served. We got the message that this was impossible because the lamb was already prepared in advance. The quality of the preparation didn't honor the noble animal. Service and price were ok.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Public Relations Manager at Muusu, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for visiting our restaurant and finding time for the feedback! We appreciate your comment about our dishes, we will use it to improve and to strive for better results, so that we can satisfy each and every one of our guests. Our team will always welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

A place worth returning!
First impressions: ambient cosy and stylish, welcoming and friendly staff, nice feeling. But then it become better and better! Our waiter was a spark! Conversant, funny and good looking :)
Food was excellent! We both had venison steak. Im not a big steak admirer, but this was a DEEEELISH!
Wine, atmosphere and food. I got dizzy :)

I wish MUUSU restaurant a bright and long life! ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Public Relations Manager at Muusu, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are happy that you chose our restaurant. Thank you for the positive feedback! We will try to please you with our new, creative ideas, wonderful atmosphere and high quality service in the future too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muusu also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Muusu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muusu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.