We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Baltpark needs some work to bring it up to snuff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baltpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baltpark Hotel to your Saves list
Baltpark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pernavas st 36, Riga 1009, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Baltpark needs some work to bring it up to snuff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I stayed at the Baltpark for several days because other family members were there. My first room was terrible. The bathroom was dirty and in disrepair. When I reached for some toilet paper, the holder fell off the wall. My next room was much better-- larger, with a nice bathroom. However, I think, in order to save energy the lights were off in the halls, so it was very dark & scary getting to one's room. Whole sections of the floors were empty, and hence pitch black right by the elevator. One relative had to switch rooms late at night, after an exhausting day, because when he got back to the hotel, the electricity was not working in his room. The restaurant was supposed to be open every night for dinner, but was only open one night the whole time I was there. We ate dinner that night, which took forever, and we were the only patrons in the restaurant. There was a major all night party one night directly above my room, and constant street noise the rest of the time. There was also an "afternoon delight" going on somewhere on one of the floors one day, that you could hear all over the place! I guess you could consider it humorous & semi entertaining...
Breakfast was pretty good and consistent. The staff varied. Two young ladies at the front desk were wonderful. Others were sullen & rude.
In summary, the Baltpark was adequate for the price; but I wouldn't recommend it for lodging in Riga.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is absolutely average... One good thing is the restaurant on the roof, The food was great as well as attitude. After ordering via "Booking", 2 rooms with A/C! Imagine the surprise, when we were told these rooms are not available. The manager offered to refund the price difference between the room types, but eventually gave us a free night. the misleading - awful! The resolution - "well, they tried". Those days were very hot... The rooms are clean, bathrooms - ok. Breakfast was simple, completely European, nothing out of the ordinary. The staff was kind and trying to help. In short - only if you have no better option for a reasonably priced hotel...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieksamaki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed in Baltpark aroud Christmas 2013. hotel is a bit far away from center but buses are cheap
and frequent. was tarvellin alone so had stantard single which was smal but then again i only slept in it.Breakfast was good but every second day they run out of some things, maybe better comminication between reception and kitchen might help. The staff at the reception and breakfast
were nice and helpful. Had one meal at the the restaurant and it took ages to get due to shortage of staff. Cleaners kept my room clean. as whole if one doesn´t mind using bus the hotel is ok and
in the summer walking to the centre would probaply be nice, weather permitting.

Room Tip: Choosing higher class room would probaply give you more room and even a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is just 10 minutes by bus from old Riga. The bus tickets are very cheap and you can buy them at a kiosk which is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel's entrance. Breakfast is plentiful. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff is very cold but not rude and can also give you a free map of Riga. On the roof there's a nice terrace with a bar and a little sauna. Many stores (including a pharmacy and a mini-market where you can buy the famous Riga Black Balsam) are near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Baltpark is a great hotel if you want to really get the feel of Riga. It was very clean and the people who worked here were very friendly. Although it isn't located in the city center, it is not far away and there are several sites that are within walking distance. The hotel features a very good restaurant and does offer room service. It is definitely worth more than the price!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Mt wife and I stayed at this hotel on a tour of the Baltic capitals with Leger Holidays.The tour itself was excellent with the two drivers doing a terrific job.However when we arrived at this hotel having travelled from Vilnius at 16.50,our rooms which were on the sixth floor were not ready.There were about four other rooms that were not ready also.Dinner was scheduled for 18.00 and we were told we could wait in the dining room which was also on the top floor(sixth).
To add insult to injury the ONLY lift was out of order,and the porter refused to take any luggage up the stairs and left the hotel,leaving the drivers to struggle with 40 cases.We sat in the dining room and asked if there would be a complimentary drink whilst we waited for our rooms,but nothing was forthcoming.We started dinner at 18.00 still in our travelling attire and five minutes later were handed the keys to the room.Dinner was nothing special and the room was small and very basic.Breakfast was average and it was a pleasure to leave after breakfast.I could not recommend this hotel to anyone!We stayed here on the *th July 2012.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Pretty inexpensive hotel. A bit away from centre, but good connection with bus 3 or bus 6 to city centre. Rooms were very clean, but hot water pressure was weak. Breakfast was biggest I have even seen at hotels and everything tasted good.

Room Tip: Some noise from roof tarace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltpark Hotel

Address: Pernavas st 36, Riga 1009, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baltpark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 3* Hotel Baltpark (built in May, 2006) located close to the centre of Riga, central railway station and bus terminal. We offer 43 rooms of various types for your comfort: elegantly arranged standard rooms; rooms for guests with special needs; romantic rooms (for unforgettable moments). At your disposal there is arranged in a style of the Caribbean Islands restaurant Paradise, a perfect place during your business trips or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baltpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltpark Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.