We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly restaurant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltpark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Baltpark Hotel to your Saves list
Baltpark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pernavas st 36, Riga 1009, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Riga
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly restaurant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

When we came to the hotel the staff apologized and said that they have overbooking and they wanted to put us in different hotel far away. After complain, they put us in the hotel just next to it for the first night, other nights back to Baltpark.
Hotel rooms are very clean, staff is very helpful and food in the restaurant is very tasty (however a bit expensive). Terrace on the roof is so nice, cosy and covered when it's raining.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Baltpark Hotel for one week. Our flight times were changed and the hotel staff were very good at making alternative arrangements for us. Transfers from the airport were arranged by the hotel staff and it was cheap, 12 lats, (15 lats for the return journey.)
We were upgraded at no extra cost to a bigger room which had a balcony and huge bathroom.
The food at breakfast catered for every taste. The rooftop terrace was wonderful and we ate breakfast and sometimes evening meals there.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was first class in particular the salads, fish and ice cream! It was good value for money.
Location was not central to old Riga but the availablity of trams and buses meant that it was 15mins approx from the centre. The cost of transport was only 50cents and for this you could travel from one end of Riga to the other if you wanted to! On one occassion we used a taxi to get baclk to the hotel. We knew that this would be expensive as we got it from Central Market, would not advise doing this. It cost us 10lats.
We used public transport every day to visit tourist attractions and this is easy to do because of the location of the hotel. For example it cost us 1 lat for the return journey to visit the Ethnographic Museum , the bus stop was a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We plan to visit Riga again and will stay at the Baltpark.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We had a map of the hotel and decided to walk from Riga..... Well, after about half hour we jumped on a bus. It is a good couple of miles out of Riga. But, once you know what bus to get is really easy to get to/from.

The hotel itself is ok, its probably on par with British Travelodges, nothing really speacial about the hotel, but at the same time the only real negative is the fact that despite what the website says, it DOES NOT have internet. Not even in the lobby.

Breakfast was adequate and generally the stay was ok.

We'd stay here again, but i think next time id look for somewhere a little more central to Riga.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Hy,

I reserved a "lux" room (suite). When we arrived and I so how it looks in real. It terrible. It seems that room was calling me: hey mister could you renew me? Yes for 3 stars standart room it was OK. but not for suite. I thnik it will be OK for 1 year wedding anniversary. but I was wrong. They think if they put to the room jacuzzi they could call it suite. After this experience that day we drive to a beutiful jurmala spa hotel and have a pleasant stay. Thank you them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Stag parties are welcome here but the hotel is NOT near the bars and clubs. Expect to pay upto 15 lats for a taxi from the hotel or 45 minutes to an hour walk. Agree a price with the taxi before getting in and keep an eye on the taxi metre. And don't take the hotel's own taxi as this is very expensive. We got stung for 32 lats to the airport.
The hotel has a bar which is reasonably priced at 1.5 lats for a beer and the rooms are comftable and clean. The hotel is reasonably priced but not near the nightlife.

  • Liked — Clean and conftable rooms
  • Disliked — Location - it wasn't near the bars and clubs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

I recently stayed in the Baltpark on a stag weekend. The hotel is clean and basic. The staff were reasonably helpful, but the one thing is its location. The hotel is approx 45min walk from the old town. Not the 15 minutes the hotel website and the stag organiser (stagweb) states. Our group also had food in the restaurant one night and while three of the meals were acceptable. The rest of the meals were very very poor.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager36, reservation manager at Baltpark Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2008
Dear hotel guest!

Thank you for your stay in our hotel!

Firstly, we would like to apologize to you that
you where wrongly informed by some web page – Hotel Baltpark is by walking just 15 minutes away from Old City.

Secondly, the information now is rightly written – our hotel is 15-20 minutes drive away from centre and if there are no traffic jams than even less.

However, you are always welcomed to our hotel! We will try to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltpark Hotel

Address: Pernavas st 36, Riga 1009, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baltpark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 3* Hotel Baltpark (built in May, 2006) located close to the centre of Riga, central railway station and bus terminal. We offer 43 rooms of various types for your comfort: elegantly arranged standard rooms; rooms for guests with special needs; romantic rooms (for unforgettable moments). At your disposal there is arranged in a style of the Caribbean Islands restaurant Paradise, a perfect place during your business trips or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Baltpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltpark Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.