We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Kristo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Kristo to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Kristo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaleju iela 56 | Old Riga, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am a bit of a world traveler (39 countries so far) and I always stay in four star hotels if I can. This was not a four star hotel. It was a three star if you don't count the unrenovated rooms which they try to sell you, which are more like two star. Unfortunately I had pre-paid for four nights, otherwise I would have left after one. The rooms are odd shaped, dark, narrow and small. The decor of the renovated rooms is hideous. I paid extra to switch to a "junior suite" which was nothing of the sort. It was the size of a regular room in a proper four star hotel. The toilet sewage backed up into the bathtub. The plumber came twice, but for the rest of the stay my room smelled like toilet. They said they had only some small, unrenoved rooms to give me. The whole experience basically ruined my trip to Riga, which is a beautiful city. There are so many gorgeous four star hotels in Riga. And for the same price! Don't have your heart broken like I did. Also the breakfast was gross.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    89
    37
    17
    14
See reviews for
36
71
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location...very clean and tidy..Also all the staff were very helpful and polite... The rooms are quite good but keep in mind some of them don't have windows :/ Still I had a pleasant stay with my friends and strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spended two days (22-23 of july) on the Monte Kristo hotel and it was a really good experience, I arrived before the check-in time because my bus was to early, it was awesome because when I arrived at the hotel at 10:30 my room was already ready and they let me check in before the time (2pm). The room was very clean and the staff very helpfull! The bathroom also had an awesome bathtub and the bed was soooo good :D I'm really glad that I choose this hotel... And I think the biggest problem that I had was because the lights in mty room were not that good, but that was not a big problem because in summer is very light. The hotel is in the center of the city, only 5 minutes away from St. Peter's church.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here from 30th June - 5th July 2012. All the staff were very friendly. The room was the right size for my stay, very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable but I did not sleep that well due to inconsiderate other guests who seemed to shout at the top of their voices at all times of the night. Breakfast was very nice. My only complaint was that nearly everything ( including the omlet ) had cucumber in it. I really hate cucumber ! As I was travelling on my own breakfast was a little bit uncomfortable as all the tables for one were positioned where I faced the corner of the room which did leave me feeling like a total outcast. The hotel is idea for walking around the old town of Riga and is nice and handy for the bus station and train station. I would recommend people try using both of these Latvian transport systems as extremely cheap. The boat trip to the coast for 10 Lats ( with a train ride back for 0.8 Lats ) was very good. I ate my evening meals mainly at the Jautra Lapsa ( Funny Fox ) Grecinieku Iela. The food here was very healthy and of good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Recently stayed here, 7-9 July 2012. A lovely hotel, clean, well maintained, and very polite and helpful staff. Everything was in good order, an amazing breakfast, more than enough food and variety, being a veggie. A brilliant location, near the bus, train, in the old town, about 2min from everything, Riga being very small. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Kristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Kristo

Address: Kaleju iela 56 | Old Riga, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#37 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Kristo 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and cozy boutique hotel in the unique historic part of Riga - Old Town. You will find museums, monuments of architecture, popular places of leisure and relaxation, the largest shopping centers, banks, state institutions and embassies located in immediate proximity to the hotel. Within a few minutes walk there are Bus and Railway Stations as well as the Sea Port. Hospitality, exclusive service, highly professional and friendly personnel will make your relaxation unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Kristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Kristo Hotel
Monte Kristo Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Kristo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.