We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful space, staff, food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Knives Restaurant

3 Knives Restaurant
Smilsu Iela 14, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
+371 26 660 060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 614 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $50
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful space, staff, food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a great find in Riga. Really inventive dishes with a Scandanavian twist. Unlike anything l've ever had, and one of the best meals I can remember. Had shredded deer appetizer and pike perch main. Each was wonderful, as was the setting and service. Got in without a reservation for an early dinner. Usually just make short trips to Riga but now I could be convinced it's worth an extra night to eat here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Searbor,
Thank you for choosing 3 Knives Restaurant. We are pleasant that you found Nordic taste which is our chef signature. Happy that you enjoyed food and service! Thanks for great comment and looking forward to see you again.
Kind regards, restaurant manager Raimonds Ziemanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We found this place by mistake and are so happy that we did! Even though we arrived for dinner the exceptional staff offered us the option of the 6 course brunch menu, which we went for. Every course was an unusual joy, with great combinations of flavours and high quality. Pancakes with peppermint sauce and bourbon ice-cream, poached eggs with grated crispy bacon, a delicious dark chocolate mousse, everything was terrific and reasonably priced! The service was impeccable too :)

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear GusElena!
We are really happy that you chose “3 knives” restaurant and enjoyed our 6 course brunch menu and service! Thank you for sharing great comment on Trip Advisor. Looking forward to welcome you again!
Kind regards, restaurant manager Raimonds Ziemanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wow! I was so well looked after here. The waiter explained everything and was friendly. I had shredded deer with cucumber sauce to start whcih was lovely. Afterwards I had duck, excellent. Finished off with a dark chocolate pudding. Two glasses of Carmenere along the way and a ten year old armagnac. Lovely surroundings, great service and wonderful food. Really one of the best places I've eaten in for a long time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear DougShaw1 ! We are pleased that you enjoyed restaurant “3 knives”! Thank you for sharing great comments in Trip Advisor and we are look forward to welcome you again in our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I visited Restaruant 3 Knives (the former name - Bistro 3 Zivis) for a lunch and I must say I was impressed. The food, the venue and the service were exactly as it should be. The main course (chicken fillet with mashed potatoes and peas) as well as the dessert (vanilla cream with strawberry and rhubarb sauce) were excellent. The interior of the restaurant with its beautiful chandeliers sets just the right mood for a gourmet experience. And the service was very polite and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Liene!
Thank you for choosing 3 Knives Restaurant. We are happy that you enjoyed lunch, service and atmosphere in our restaurant. We appreciate your good comments shared in TripAdvisor. Looking forward to see you again.
With best regards – restaurant Manager Raimonds Ziemanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Not far from the Dom cathedral is this small restaurant, seats perhaps 25. We were made very comfortable with pillows behind us. We had an amuse-bouche of ccured sallmon with horseradish cream and quail egg, followed by a potato salad with garlic sauce, crayfish soup and a seafood special. The sevice was attentive and food reallydistinctive. The one thing that keeps this from being in the excellent category was that we had to send the seafood dish back because it wasn't hot enough.y

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimonds Z, Manager at 3 Knives Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Yakherd!
Thank you for choosing 3 Knives Restaurant. We are happy that you enjoyed food, service and atmosphere in our restaurant. I really hope that restaurant staff solved the failure! We appreciate your good comments shared in Trip Advisor!
With best regards – restaurant Manager Raimonds Ziemanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Knives Restaurant also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to 3 Knives Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Knives Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.