We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Islande 14. 12. 2013.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islande Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Islande Hotel to your Saves list
Islande Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Kipsalas St, Riga LV-1048, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Islande 14. 12. 2013.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hotel located near the Old Town, it's like a 10 min walk. Bus station is about 2 min from the hotel. The rooms are clean, towels changed every day, everything you need, you have. There is an ironing room, you can use it any time. I stayed here for 3 weeks and it really felt like home. Awesome staff, bowling alley, billard tables and some game machines in the basement. The breakfast is awesome, a lot of things you can choose from. If i come back to Riga, i'm staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    161
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
46
102
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a high quality hotel, located on the island in the river on the seaward side of the large cable stay bridge that can be seen in teh river views of the city.

The hotel had good facilities (Spa) and well sized comfortable rooms. My room had overlooked the river and the old city. Bed comfortable.

Breakfast was well provisioned with lots of choice, perhaps too much - so best to allow plenty of time for this ...

Hotel downside is that it lacks warmth / atmoshere in reception/ bar.

Room Tip: ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel located on the other side of the historic center , across the river Daugava - near the bridge. Very nice hotel with direct transfer from the airport. Clean rooms, very good breakfasts. The panoramic view from the windows is wonderful. Hotel is very close to the shopping center with a good supermarket. Hotel very close to the city center- just cross the bridge:) Internet is free at the room. Very friendly staff at the reception and very fast registration. Suitable conference rooms and good organized coffee-breaks.

Room Tip: be far from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a nice modern hotel, literally 15 minutes walk from the Old Town. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. Nice, reasonably priced bar with friendly staff. I didn't get round to trying the spa which was a shame as it looked lovely but is only free to use before 12 for guests and we alwasy seemed pushed for time!
Breakfasts were good and although I didn't try the resturaunt or rooom service the menu looked good.
Was a bit disappointed the rooftop terrace wasn't open, however we went in september and the weather wasn't great so couldn't be helped.
Would definitely stay here again if I was back in riga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel with only 10 minutes walking to the old Town. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was nothing special but still OK. Location is good, walking distanse to almoust everything in Riga.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one weekend's night there and should say that I really have some doubts about their four stars... First-staff. Guy at the reception was unpolite and did not payed any attention to us when we came and did not checked us untill he finished his phone call and till he made his papers in order. So, in about 20-30mins we were checked in. Room was ok, but not the "oh my God how good it is " one. Best thing there is breakfast -was really good and tasty. Place of hotel is ok-not far away from center of riga and near the shopping mall ( no need to use their mini bar :) ). Overall - not bad hotel, with just "so so" staff. I guess I will try to find another hotel next time, but if I would catch a good deal, maybe would consider to return there... So, very good 3stars hotel, but have doubts about 4 stars which they have now....

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff is unfriendly, very different services to guests from far abroad and from neighboring countries (like Lithuania, Estonia etc.). The internet access is bad - in room it works very low, only in lobby is better. It was a problem with parking ticket - each time You must explain leaving the hotel that you are a guest, because the parking employee required to pay for parking. Hotel does not have cards for guests for parking. Breakfast disappointing - no cakes, boiled eggs are cold, orange juice was sour and decayed. In summary - the hotel is not worthy of four stars, and not worth the price that must be paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
1.7 mi away
Wellton Elefant Hotel
Wellton Elefant Hotel
#25 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Xcelsus
Xcelsus
#9 of 103 in Riga
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#30 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#21 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islande Hotel

Address: 20 Kipsalas St, Riga LV-1048, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#25 Business Hotel in Riga
#34 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Islande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islande Hotel was opened on March 2006.The hotel is located in Kipsala, in the center of Riga - a 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. For guests’ comfort we offer 205 well equipped rooms for non smokers and smokers, 29 non- allergic rooms and 7 rooms for guests with special needs. All rooms arranged in a modern reserved Scandinavian style. 5 conference rooms, business centre, spa, gym, souvenir shop, closed parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Islande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islande Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.