We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ekes Konvents

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ekes Konvents to your Saves list
Ekes Konvents
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Skarnu 22, Riga LV 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Living History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Ekes Konvent is a great B&B if you want to get a feel of what it may have been like to live in this area 600 years ago! The rooms though small are flooded with sunlight, and have ensuite bath with a great shower. There is a terrific view of the square and St. Peter's church. There is always something going on the square. There is no elevator and the wi-fi was only available in the lobby due to the heavy walls in the building. There were working on trying to improve the wi-fi service.

If you have roller board luggage, it is about a 7 minute walk to the bus station via the tunnel on Valnu Iela on the other side of the tram tracks. Take a quick left on Audeju Iela and then cut though the shopping plaza, cut though one of the back alleys and you will be at the Ekes Konvent which is directly across from St Peter's church.

The staff is very helpful and everyone we talked with spoke english. They offer a great breakfast buffet at their sister hotel. The location is ideal for seeing old town Riga. We were fortunate enough to catch a noon Bach organ concert at Dome cathedral. There are some great restaurants located right next to the B&B. It is also fun to explore the market across from the bus terminal. Check out the small Uzbekistan restaurant for some great shish-kabobs!

If you are looking for a quaint place to stay in Riga, the Ekes Konvent is definitely one I would recommend.

Room Tip: You may want to request one of the larger rooms on the 1st floor overlooking St. Peter's church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
30
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very small hotel in the old building. Located right in the middle of the old town. I had a room with a view on the church and the square. Girls at the reception are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has being served at the building next door and it was buffet. No Wifi in the room but hey we are in Riga for a great time. Great place and would be happy to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Take with you warm socks and ask for an extra blanket (staff will provide you with one with a smile) and do not rely on the hair dryer, otherwise great stay, interesting building, nice spacious bathroom, friendly staff. Although the room was mentioned to be "extra small" it was spacious enough for two people, no room for extra bed, though. Nice view to an old church.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mannheim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very old building, more than 600 years, and very well renovated. The rooms are very sympathetic with flair. Very human size with very pleasant reception: employees are very teking care of the visitors. The area is animated with street musicians of good level: voices are great. The breakfast in the nearby hotel is a good buffet. Nearby you can find a very good restaurant !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
227 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Immediately behind the St John's church on a pedestrian street in the old town you are situated in the middle of everything. My room faced the church and had character. One draw back may be that there is no elevator. Reception was very helpful with good english and information. The breakfast is in another bldg. and was possibly the best of my trip. This is a great choice for a quick visit of Riga. The Airbaltic shuttle bus dropped me right in front of the church.

Room Tip: Room was neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Ekes Konvents in June 2012 and we loved this place. The hotel is centrally located (it's right across from the St. John church). We took a bus from the airport to a bus stop hear the church and walked to the hotel. The hotel is so cute and we loved the decoration. The room is a bit small and they don't have double beds in any of their rooms, but my friend and I fit in a queen/full size bed fine. Our stay was comfortable and very pleasant. The staff were super friendly and gave us a lot of info about Riga and events in town. Madara was one of the friendly staff who helped with our never ending questions. Our accommodation came with free buffet breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay in Riga and at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the church. We got a room right across from the church and had great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small hotel with less than 10 rooms in an old building in middle of the old town. We got a very cosy room, double bed and nice bathroom with shower. We had a view towards the church in the front. The women in the reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious buffee. It was very early snow end of October and below freezing but our room was warm. There was free Wifi in the room. The only downsides were: The room was a little small without a real table, saturday/sunday night there was some noise from partying people walking on the street being quite loud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#46 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekes Konvents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekes Konvents

Address: Skarnu 22, Riga LV 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ekes Konvents 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ekes Konvents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ekes Konvents, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.