We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Novembra Krastmala 29 | Old Riga, Riga, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Xmas trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

The Hostel positioned at the edge of the old town. Very clean, staff pleasant and helpful, and best of all a 24hr bar :)

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
7
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Great price, great service, great value
Hey....They even give you free beer

Best place to stay in Riga

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Recommend the bar crawl, even though I don't remember much about it, and the shooting range in a Soviet bunker is surreal and should be tried. Great location in old Riga 5 minute walk from all the site seeing attractions.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I just loved staying in this hostel. It's in the center of Riga, a wonderful small city with crazy nights! Staff, mainly Adam, will take you to bars and clubs, and you'll definitely meet people and have fun. The best hostel I've been at.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Having read all the reviews, I didn't believe a hostel could be that good. But it really, really was. We received a complimentary beer from Frank on arrival, the rooms were spotless, bathrooms clean (every hour), showers hot and powerful, 24 hour bar with great prices comfortable seats and UK subscription sports on TVs, the place had a brilliant atmosphere, security was first class (Frank prides himself on the safety of the hotel), staff that worked there first class. I would particularly single out Anastasija who was our tour guide for the weekend. We were a stag party of 15 blokes, and she made sure we went to the best places (and safe places considering some of Riga's well publicised problems), and was an amazing amount of fun considering who she had to look after.

Frank took a huge amount of pride in the service received by those staying at the hotel, better than many hotels I've stayed in, and it shows in the quality of staff he's employed. He gave us great recommendations as to what we should try and do, and what we should steer well clear of - we really enjoyed them all. Any time we had any kind of problem, he couldn't do enough to solve it.

Thoroughly deserves all of it's awards, without doubt a first point of call in Riga.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I am a bit older than the average hostel guest (41), and I was a bit afraid of the party reputation that Frank's has. I was pleasantly surprised! I had booked a single room and was not at all bothered by noise or other partying going on. The staff is truly exceptional - friendly and helpful. The location is outstanding, and it could not be easier or cheaper to get there from the airport using the bus #22. Frank's is in an older building, and the steps are a pain, but the facilities are in great working order, and the bathrooms are constantly being cleaned. For the location, you will not beat the price. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who does not expect a 5-star hotel at those rates. I would definitely return to Franks and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This place is so much more than a place to stay. It was clean, social, and close to all of the relevant places in Riga. The organisation was excellent. We were a group of 4 men who went to Riga to for an escape. The staff are a credit to the organisation and planned trips out and looked after us very well. In fact, one particular staff member, named Dace, went out of her way to ensure we had an excellent time. The beach trip she organised will be long in the memory. Overall, I would say this was a great place to stay to experience both the culture and the fun of Riga.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel

Address: Novembra Krastmala 29 | Old Riga, Riga, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.