We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Riga Stay at Franks Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel
Novembra Krastmala 29 | Old Riga, Riga, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“When in Riga Stay at Franks Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just got back from Riga. What a marvellous city Riga is. From the old town to the Freedom Monument. I have been twice and would certainly go again. We have been lucky that both times we have been there has been fantastic festivals going on. The people of Latvia are very proud of there history. While there we stayed at Franks hostel overlooking the cities beautiful Daugava river. The girls that work at the hostel were very polite and friendly, with a friendly atmosphere you won't feel alone. Plent of people mix with. I would recomend staying at the hostel and will be going there again next summer. Can't wait. Thanks to all at Franks for making our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the same. Overlooking the beautiful Daugava river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    50
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
7
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really great hostel, great location, spacious rooms. Free beer on arrival went down well, and I'd recommend doing the bar crawl led by the staff when you arrive, its good value and you get a feel for the city.

Only complaint - they didn't let us poo in the sink!

Pat

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very welcoming (Free Beer upon entry) hostel with bar and helpful staff. The building a lot of character and is very cold but then I did go in winter. The location is great next to the river upon entry to the city. The staff were great, they gave us great deals on the attractions and we had a guide for the whole time we were there. I would recommend this hostel for a good basic accomodation and great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a radiator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hostel done the job for us. Picked us up from airport and the staff done everything that was asked of them. There where 23 of us and the staff where very tolerant of some dubious behaviour from the group. Cant comment on the kitchen area as we ate out when we did need to eat. Overall it was ok for what we paid to stay there. Give it a try if you go to Riga.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

1st reason not to go to this hostel is that there is a serious bed bug infestation. We have all had to come home and attempt to get rid of any bed bugs that will have almost definitely got into our luggage and I am still finding bites.

2nd reason is that the breakfast is the worst I've seen in any hostel. Just rubbery bread and jam. Not even any juice. Pathetic.

3rd reason is that it smells like a farmyard.

We were a group of 6 women who like to party which is why we chose this hostel which has a 24hr bar etc. I think we were the only women there, I certainly only saw men on their stag dos.

I suppose the reason this place has such good reviews is that no-one is up in time for the breakfast, and people assume all the bites are mosquitoes or something - but we actually saw the bed bugs. My friend found two crawling around in her bed and we found another on her bag later on.

The only good thing about this hostel was the location.

I have stayed in hostels all over Europe and this was the worst- the fact it has won awards is beyond me- but maybe they've just let themselves go.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hostel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ideal place for a group if you are not stuck up about staying somewhere fancy. There were 6 of us and we booked a 6 bed dorm with a view on to the river. The Staff were excellent and very helpful. The activities on offer were very good, I recommend shooting! Plenty of Beer in the fridge also. It is very cheap as a whole, food, beer, accommodation; what more could you want.

Top Hostel!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights on my stag do, we had a 6 bed dorm with ensuite. We were not your typical stag party but did go out drinking but behaved ourselves and got the respect of the girls working in the hostel - so much so that we got some presents bought for us when we were leaving.

The pickup/drop off service from the airport was hassle free.

At check-in we each got a free beer, the staff (especially Victoria) were very welcoming. We then had a guide booked exclusively to take us to a shooting range. The guide (Laura) was fun and helpful. The shooting trips ends with a beer in a local bar where we ended up returning time after time due to it's friendly nature.

The room was very clean and the service, as I have said was great. The shower pressure in the en-suite was not great but it did the job and for what you are paying you really cannot complain.

Advice if you are going as part of a stag party - yes, have a great time and enjoy yourself but don't wreck the place and annoy the locals. Just by behaving you will get a much better experience and get closer to the locals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel

Address: Novembra Krastmala 29 | Old Riga, Riga, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Fun Franks Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.