We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vilmaja

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vilmaja to your Saves list
Vilmaja
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ilmajas 12, Riga LV-1004, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cosy budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I've stayed here couple of times and I've always been satisfied. Vilmaja is nice and cosy budget hotel. We appreciated free parking and tasty breakfast that included mostly local food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were really disapointed with our stay in this hotel, as we arrived with our own car and parked it in hotels parking area, which is closed during nights and supposed to be safe, but unfortunetely our car has been robbed by braking the glass, and damaging side doors. So all that really ruined our stay and wouldn't recommend anyone stay their with their own car.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is about 25 minutes out of the city centre and has a few oddbods on the transport after 8PM. We stayed in July and the weather was over 35 C every day so the room heated up. We got a floor fan which cooled the room down at night but would have been unbearable if they didn't have this.

Breakfast was quite good and very filling.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

A nice hotel in a quiet place close to Riga (7 minutes by car). Very good price. Green surroundings. Breakfast was OK. Friendly staff. We felt real comfortable there.
One room has a great balcony.
Nothing to criticize.
Everything is perfect for such a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level Contributor
407 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

- tasty breakfast
- good skilled personnel
- clean comfortable room & bathroom
- city center not far away

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

The hotel is clean. Very. The blankets, the toilet and the room were just fine. The bed are comfortable, and the blankets are brand new, and of good quality.
The location: it's not too close to Old Town Riga (about 10 min by car) but I had a rental car, so no problem.
They have a guarded parking lot.
Wi-Fi was ok.
Breakfast (included) was perfect: plenty of food, juices, flakes, etc.
Only note: the SINK in the toilet was INCREDIBLY small. Just like those motorcaravan miniature-sinks.
I think they're all about the same size for most rooms. Too bad :(
If you're are looking for a clean, comfortable and economic place to stay in Riga, Vilmaja is the place for you.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Miniature sink in the toilet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Entirely all right hotel in a quiet area. Some houses in the neighborhood in some state of disrepair (not untypical of Riga), but area seems entirely safe. Friendly staff.

OK wifi, OK breakfast, free car park. Fairly close to town centre: 15 minutes by tram or trolley to the town centre. Good value.

  • Liked — All right, inexpensive accomodation in quiet area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#51 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#37 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Jurnieks
Hotel Jurnieks
#76 of 103 in Riga
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#48 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#41 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
2.8 mi away
Funky Hostel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilmaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilmaja

Address: Ilmajas 12, Riga LV-1004, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilmaja 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vilmaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilmaja Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilmaja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.