We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel for Business or Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Old City Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Old City Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teatra street 10, Riga 1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel for Business or Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Old City Boutique Hotel 3 times, twice in the past week. What brings me back is the location, the staff, and their excellent service. As most of the reviewers have stated, the hotel is well situated to walk from the bus station (if you are taking the bus from Tallinn or coming from Vilnius) in about 8 to 10 minutes, walk around Riga Old Town , with good shopping almost across the street, the Opera is a block and half away, and a number of very good restaurants are within 10 minute walk of the hotel.

The beds are comfortable and rooms, I have stayed in, are very quiet. In late Spring the air conditioning worked well and when I stayed there this last week the heat was great, particularly the in-floor heating in the bathroom floor. The rooms are always very clean.

The breakfasts are very done, with a good assortment of fruit, meats, cheeses, salads, eggs and a variety of you serve coffees and teas. I normally do not "hang out" at lobby bars, but this one is different. First there is no Wi Fi in most rooms, unless you can use a cable. So I go to the lobby bar to work on the computer. The second reason I go there, is because the staff and most of guest who are there are great to talk with- although it does not help getting letters out on a timely basis.

The main reason I continue to go back to the Old City Boutique, is the front desk staff and wonderful service. When I walked in for the first stay last week, the front desk staff remembered me by name and welcomed me back. They knew the room I like and had reserved it for me. I like that staff feels and treats repeat guest almost like friends. They go out of their way to make my stay very stay enjoyable, not just a "nice stay at a nice hotel".

I highly recommend Old City Boutique Hotel, whether you are visiting Riga for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    55
    11
    4
See reviews for
44
217
61
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is well located for exploring the Old Town of Riga. The room was spacious & clean with under-floor heating in the bathroom...perfect for drying undies on overnight! Free wifi was only available in the foyer. The breakfast was very good & we were able to replenish our water bottles there each day. There were plenty of great cafes & restaurants nearby. We were a bit disappointed the hotel didn't live up to it's own 'spin' of it being the 'oldest hotel in Riga' - just a wall in the foyer was! It lacked the character we had been expecting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a great hotel for exploring Riga, it is a very short walk to all the sight’s, St John’s Church, St Peters and the main squares. I arrived in Riga by coach, with the coach station by the central market and it only takes a very short walk to get to the Hotel. Another advantage about the location of the hotel is that it is near an indoor shopping centre which has places to eat, a bank for exchanging money and a very large and cheap supermarket.

Everything about the hotel was good although the room I had seemed a little tired with stains on the floor and in need of a little spruce up. The room also faced an inner courtyard, although there wasn’t any noise from the courtyard, the window could be left open, there was no natural light and this made the room dark during the day. But that should not put you off this hotel, as it is a great base for Riga.

The breakfast was very good and had a choice from cereals, fruit and hot food, there is free internet connection on a Desktop in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A 5 minute walk from the Bus Terminal and your are at a pleasant hotel in the old town. Very helpful staff. One of them even carried my case to my room! The room was air conditioned and spacious with a safe, an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was comfortable with a proper shower cabinet! What's more - the bathroom floor is heated! What more can you ask for? An outstanding breakfast? Well you get that too, generous and delicious - cooked with love, I say! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

ROOM. We've tried two rooms. The first of them was more beautiful than the second one, but it was cold there. We've contacted to Reception and room was changed in 10 minutes. Both of them were clean and cosh. Unfortunately, we had the perfect opportunity to hear all our neighbors. Most of them were Russian-speaking people who were "fighting against the alcohol" all the time. Yet I'm sure it isn't Hotel's fault. There is a high probability you will met the same picture in other hotels of Riga.
HOTEL. This place gives you a pleasant feeling. May be, even homey feeling. I can't say exactly why it's so, but I think the reason is the Reception and the Restaurant.
RESTAURANT. Much, much better than many tourist oriented places outside. Ravioli with Salmon, Veal Medallions, and so on. Extremely delicious. If I visit Riga one more time I'll come to this place. Even if I stay in another hotel.
LOCATION. It was great. Yet Riga is a City-Castle and every sights are located very close to each other. That's why you can choose any hotel in the Old City and will get the same location.

Room Tip: If your trip is in a cold season it's better to chose the room in the middle part of floor (some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Riga is a wonderful city to visit and this hotel offers an excellent place to stay to explore the city. The staff is helpful the rooms comfortable and the breakfast very good. Everything was as promised.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice Hotel in a great location. Very easy to get around, the rooms are spacious enough with a great breakfast and very helpful staff.

The breakfast is wonderful, plenty of food and very fresh. Riga is the most expensive out of all the Baltic States, so be mindful of the exchange rates. I had to virtually double the LVL to the AUD which makes eating out expensive.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto an internal courtyard which can be noisy at night. Not a problem if you kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dome Hotel & SPA
Dome Hotel & SPA
#3 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Boutique Hotel

Address: Teatra street 10, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#20 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old City Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of the Riga Old city and it’s easy to feel the spirit of Riga city when you are close to cultural mainstays such as Latvian National Opera, museums, sightseeing. Restaurants and parks are with walking distance and shopping centre nearby. International Airport RIX just 15 km away. Old City Boutique Hotel can be called as a museum of the photography. In the hotel presents the collection of old photos of Riga by which you can view the history of the city until present times. There are 65 rooms in a hotel which are situated in two connected buildings. In one part hotel offers 11 rooms with spirit of history, romantic and quite atmosphere and in the other part - 54 rooms which are well furnished and designed according to modern style. Each 54 room has a bathroom, phone, TV, cable internet, minibar, and safe-box, iron with ironing board and rooms equipped by the system of the central air-conditioning and adjustable heating and floor heating. Hotel facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler. Warm atmosphere, harmony of interior, comfortable rooms, cozy Lobby bar – everything disposes for high-grade rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Old City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viesturs Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.