We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Riga” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Riga Hotel Vecriga to your Saves list
Old Riga Hotel Vecriga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gleznotaju 12 / 14, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
774 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
“Little gem in Riga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Belated review. Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights/4 days in May of this year and I could not have found a better location to explore Riga from, it is the in centre of the old town and within easy reach of many places of interest. Even though the hotel is near the centre of town is is very quite and a goods night sleep was had. Staff are very friendly, helpful and our room quite spacious and clean. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If hotel is busy you might be best to ask for a room on a higher floor rather than have one facing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    58
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
56
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The good parts - a very good location and yes most rooms would be very quiet which is a big bonus in Riga as many hotels are on streets where noise could be a big issue. It is an old building and has charm. At 85 Euros it was not a bargain. Our particular room was quite large and the bathroom was also quite large. The OK part - Breakfast was very limited. Although we found it OK I would imagine many people would be disappointed. The not good at all part - our room! Room number 11 (and I think 10) - we advise you not to book this or avoid if possible. The door and windows open on to the courtyard where guest and staff constantly smoke from early morning until late at night. They sit within a couple metres of the room so there is no privacy and late at night we had to go out and ask people to be quiet. In the middle of the day we had to close all curtains for privacy and close the windows (no AC) to prevent smoke from coming in. 3-4 stars probably for other rooms, 2 stars for No 11.
Also the staff tend to not man the front desk or breakfast room but sit in the courtyard smoking and rush in when they see someone coming. When we checked out there was no one on reception to hand the key to.

Room Tip: Don't have the ground floor rooms or pray for lots of rain as the courtyard is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neulengbach, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel in the center of Riga. If you stay in Riga for only a short time like we did, this hotel is very recommendable because it is located in the middle of the center. You can go sightseeing by foot and many restaurants are nearby. The rooms are a bit old fashioned but clean.

By the way: At the entrance is a sign that the Dalai Lama stayed in the hotel in 2001

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

if you want to stay in Old Town Riga in an old authentic hotel - this might be the one. The hotel is in the center of town but in a quiet street. It is small (25 rooms) and rooms are relatively small as well. I booked a superior double room and there was just enough space for one person. The hotel has no aircon and nights in summer are hot. Everyone are serviceminded and the hotel receptionist even called me after check out to clarify that I have paid double (through Expedia and also at check out). They put the Money back into my account.
Nice hotel, good value, service is fine - but small...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here recently. Our room was small for the price, had only a shower, and was not good value. The breakfast was only fair, at best. The location is good but, because Riga's Old Town is so concentrated, all the downtown hotels are well located. Most troubling for us was the lack of an elevator and lack of porter's assistance with our luggage. If, like me, you have a heart condition, or just plain do not want to carry 50-pound suitcases up many flights of stairs, you might like to look elsewhere for accommodation in this great city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Some of the reviews for this hotel are a little negative so while the rate was good, I arrived with a little trepidation. I should not have worried as this was a great little hotel in a quiet street in the old town. We were in a room above the kitchen of the 'sister' restaurant; this might make the room a little warm, but a fan is provided and we had no problems. The room looked out on to a courtyard where guests can sit. It was not noisy at all.

Breaskfast was fine, a mixture of buffet and eggs / coffee made to order. Reception was friendly and helpful. I slept well and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Vecriga and had a great time there - very friendly staff, awesome location, cozy room, nice restaurant. Its a great value for that money! Be sure to enjoy morning coffee on a hotel's sunny terrace and ask staff to recommend you some hotspots around the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#13 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#46 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#35 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Palace
Hotel Garden Palace
#52 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Riga Hotel Vecriga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Riga Hotel Vecriga

Address: Gleznotaju 12 / 14, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Riga Hotel Vecriga 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vecriga in Latvian means "Old Riga." The romance of the medieval ages together with 21st century comfort, warm welcome and personal attention to every guest have made the hotel popular among tourists and business travellers. Hotel boasts an extensive collection of contemporary artwork, which is considered to be one of the finest in Riga. Hotel celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2009. Quite a few famous people stayed in our hotel during these years: Dalai Lama, John Malcovich, Harry Harrison, Vladimir Molchanov, Tamara Gvardciteli and others. Hotel’s guestbook has numerous autographs and comments from well-known artists, politicians, writers, scientists and musician. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Old Riga Hotel Vecriga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Riga Hotel Vecriga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.