We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the centre of Riga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Kaleju street, cnr Audeju, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Riga
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the centre of Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went to Riga in February for a quick mini-break and wanted somewhere a little bit nicer than our usual hostel choice, and we weren't disappointed here. The rooms were small but had everything we needed, the staff were very friendly and attentive, the breakfast was excellent (including free sparkling wine!), and the location awesome.

The spa in the basement was a great way to spend an afternoon (particularly when it was -10 degrees outside) - and only cost £10 for the day on top of our costs. Book in advance of arriving if you want any treatments.

Overall great value for money for an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    134
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
44
162
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Me and my family stayed at this hotel from monday to friday. Our choice of hotel was based on the feedback on Tripadvisor. And it really met our expectations. Nice situated in the old city. Close to everything. Very nice rooms and very clean. Good restaurant with good breakfast. Really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went to this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel is situated in the very heart of Riga. This means that it is very close to the bars, restaurants and shops. We found that the staff were very helpful and they all spoke good English. The breakfast was a buffet style breakfast with porridge available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

For a group of 10 guys on a stag do looking for a much better quality hotel to stay in without breaking the bank. This hotel has it all, close enough in the old town with walking distance to many bars and restaurant. The hotel has its own SPA which was an added bonus after a heavy night. The rooms were on the small side but very clean and modern, there is no noise even with the window open. Staff are very accommodating, the only disappointment was the buffet breakfast, lack of choice and freshness of some foods, our piece of bread had mould on it.

I would recommend staying here, but would avoid the food at the hotel, which isn't a big deal considering the hotel is opposite many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Exellent location, nice and tidy rooms. However the hotel is charging you for the specific view and you may not get it at the end. First room we've been offered were overlooking the rubbish bin on a ground floor.
I had to dig out a confirmation from my Ipad to proof that I'm right. Noone offered me to have seat, to take care of my heavy luggage, give directions to my partner where to park a car, while we are sorting these things out.
After having very demnding and unprofessional attitude from ladies at Reception, we've been given room keys from a different room. What a surprise when we entered the room, after travelling hours, helping ourselves with luggage. (No offer! Nobody even offered to hold this massive entrance door for us), ROOM WAS OCCUPIED! Coming down to Reception for the third time, we recieved NO APOLOGY and an answer "Can't be true!" after another 10 minutes agrueing to get finally to the room. They calld to occupied room and confirmed details with the guest staying in the room.
It took me quite few efforts to calm down my partner to not go ballistic and finish this humiliating experience once and forever. We've been "upgraded" after all this to a room with the slippers.

Went down to a restaurant, to have a drink and finally go to the bed. After serving first round of drinks we've been left unattended for an 1h . Apart from that we had to stand up and walk to the bar to get sugar for the coffee. When we finally desided to ask for a bill, it took andother 20 minutes. We approached the bar, where lady sent us back to the table and told us, that someone is coming to see us. Nothing happened after 20minutes. It took 1h and 40 minutes to pay for a glass of wine and cup of coffee.

Bucket with an ice from Room Servic stayed in my room for two nights. In a morning when we went for breakfast, because of unpleasant experience upn the check in, ladies turned their faces away and did not even bother to look at us.

We were absolutely exhausted from the stay and rudness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O S, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Miss Marcqpan,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experience.

We are sorry to discover that you were not happy with the overall experience and for which we sincerely apologize.
Service described by you is absolutely unacceptable in our hotels. We have to admit that it took us some time to establish constant and professional team. I am sure, that if you would visit us now, you would see an essential improvement in all departments. We are sorry, that despite the management effort, we were not able to improve your stay then. We hope to have another opportunity to restore your faith in us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.


Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska
Wellton Hotel Group
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fantastic in every way, location, friendly staff, breakfast had plenty of choice for everyone, modern rooms. Rooms not the biggest but what use is a big room in a City as beautiful as Riga. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpi, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

the hotel is located in the very center of Riga old town, superb position for a walk in the old town and its amenities.
The room was not big but brand new, with flat screen satellite tv set and nice bathroom. Staff was helpfull and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Kaleju street, cnr Audeju, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in November 2013, Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Riga’s Old Town, within walking distance from the main touristic attractions – museums, parks and squares. Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa is perfectly located for business travellers and tourists. Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa are modern and decorated in contemporary style according to international 4 stars hotel standards. Hotel has 120 rooms, Wellton Spa Centre and Latvian traditional cuisine restaurant „Melnā Bite”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.