We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Kaleju street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Turku
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

the best of this hotel was the location, very close to old town attractions, restaurants and a shopping mall. We arrived early in the morning and unfortunately did not get our rooms until late afternoon. Also, we were a family of 5 persons. We had booked 2 rooms as there are no family rooms in the hotel. We did not get the rooms nearby despite asking, they were even in different floors. Rooms were clean and modern. Ear plugs in the room were useful as there came music and noice from the street until early morning.

Room Tip: ask a room which does not have windows to the street (due to noice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    100
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
115
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very Nice hotel, in a VERY Central spot in Riga. The hotel is brand new, and very Nice.. Spa in the basement if you want it on the hotel.. Sercie was NOT the best, but it is "normal" in Riga / Latvia so Guess it is not worse or better other Places. Very Nice bar / restaurant (With good service) just on the other side of the street.. And MANY other Places nearby (lots of bars in Riga (and churches)!)...

Room Tip: I asked for a silent room, and got it.. Fare away from the street. It is anyway a pedestrian area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. Right in the middle of the old city. The staff is very polite and correct. Rooms look very new and modern. The bathroom and room is very clean. The airconditioning works perfectly and is not too noisy. The Spa is very modern.Breakfast offers a nice range of food options. There is always fresh fruit and even sparkling wine. The breakfast room is pleasant and not too crowded.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that does not give out on the street. Not sure if front rooms would be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel itself is in a great location in the Old Town and within very easy walking distance to everything you would want to see. There are a lot of things close by such as restaurants, convenience stores, markets, etc. The hotel is clean and modern. Our room was a little small, but still very clean. The staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet was incredible. There were a lot of options and everything was fresh.

There were some things that we did not find so good. The AC in our room was not working so the room was very hot. We asked that it be fixed, and apparently it was, but it was only a marginal difference.

The is a spa area which includes a small pool, hot tub (which is not very hot), and two saunas. The steam sauna had a very strong mildew smell and could have used a good scrub with bleach. The floors in the spa area were very slippery and we observed several guests slip. The frustrating thing about the spa area was that it was not included in the price of the room. It was not clear on the booking website that there was a separate room rate for use of the spa area. I think all of the hotel booking websites need to be clearer about this. On the second day, we did pay to use the area, at 50% off as a guest, but it was only for the remaining hours it was open for the day (2 1/2) and not 24 hours.

If you want a clean hotel in a great location in the city, this is a good option, if you don't care about the pool, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O S, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mrs Roxy L,

Thank you for your constructive feedback!
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.
We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services.
We really hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska
Wellton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmer City, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely done and the breakfast is very nice. It is also a great location for getting around town. The shuttle service is also great.
We booked on hotels.com and there is no mention of the pool being a separate charge. We were offered 50% off the €20 daily access fee. The pool could be cleaned, the steam room is foul smelling, and the floors are dangerously slick in the whole pool area. We paid the €10 charge to swim for an hour. I was not impressed with the facility and it should be included with all of the rooms.
The air conditioner in our room didn't work at all the first night and was only slightly better the second night after they "fixed" it.
Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O S, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Mr Jonathan,

Thank you for your feedback!
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused. Your comments were forwarded to the relevant departments, so we keep working to improve.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska

Wellton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Looks and feels new inside, modern and nice. Great location, walk to your meetings and back through the old city or along the river. Handy airport shuttle. Quite reasonable minibar prices. Take the time to explore very nearby for unique bars and restaurants, and their specials which are of good value. I don't know how parking would be, but you don't need a car when you are there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In its favour, the hotel is centrally located and everything is in walking distance. The breakfast buffet is good, and the lobby and breakfast area is attractive.
The spa area is nice, but this was let down because we had booked through expedia and it was not clear that not all rooms do not include the spa, so they then try and charge on top of room rates, which led to some disputes between us and the hotel.
The room, however, was very small and quite claustrophobic. The shower and bathroom was not good as the shower leaked and made the bathroom like a pool. I realise we stayed in a cheaper room, but for the money we have had better rooms in other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O S, Public Relations Manager at Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mr James L,

Thank you for your feedback!
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your comments were forwarded to the relevant departments.
At the moment Wellton Spa Centrum recreation area admission fee is 20 Euro per person; for Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa guests 15 Euro per person. Free admission for guests staying in Superior and Junior Suite rooms.
We hope that despite the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to one of our properties. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Olga Stavinska
Guest Relations Manager
Wellton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Kaleju street, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in November 2013, Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Riga’s Old Town, within walking distance from the main touristic attractions – museums, parks and squares. Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa is perfectly located for business travellers and tourists. Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa are modern and decorated in contemporary style according to international 4 stars hotel standards. Hotel has 120 rooms, Wellton Spa Centre and Latvian traditional cuisine restaurant „Melnā Bite”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.