We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art noveau!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alberta Iela

Alberta Iela
Centra Rajons, Riga 1010, Latvia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 147 things to do in Riga
Attraction details
Palermo, Italy
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
384 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Art noveau!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't miss the possibility to see the biggest density of art noveau buildings in Europe! A incredible and wonderful surprise for any tourist who visit this underconsidered pearl of the Baltic.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    55
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
219 attraction reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Never have seen such ornate details on residential buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This street in Riga has a concentration of many multi-storied residential buildings that are decorated with Art Nouveau details. The street is easy to find on one's own and only about a 20 minute walk from the city cruise ship dock. I used Lonely Planet's, "Art Nouveau Walking Tour of Riga" to plan my excursion as it offered a small scale map that identified the location of the buildings that had these Art Nouveau details and gave a description of them. However, once on Alberta Street, these details shout out at you to take notice of them. I found it best to walk on the sidewalk opposite the buildings which had the details in order to see all the way up the facade of the building to the top where more decoration was visible. The white sculptural heads like Medusa's, or goblins, or lions, all have very expressive features usually wide eyes, gaping mouths, and wild wavy hair. The details on these buildings all vary so I found my eye quickly wandering to the next building to see what treat was on display there, usually some flora, fauna, and a take on classical heads/bodies, either male or female. These details appear all over the building, not just around the doors where the heaviest decoration often appeared. Some of the buildings had bay windows or balconies to make them project out onto the sidewalk; some had, in addition to the white sculptured heads, some colorful tiles to contrast against the plastered facade. Quite a few of these buildings were well maintained outside, some with blue paint and white trim. It was worth the half hour I allotted for this attraction as it was so unique. Even my husband, who at first was reluctant to "walk all that way to look at buildings", found the details interesting and photo worthy. Without him along, I might have ventured onto other streets noted in the guide, but I had seen enough on Alberta Street to understand the impact that the Art Nouveau movement had on RIga's architecture.








lanet's

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It would be a sin to visit Riga and not visit this street, the Quiet Center, and see all the marvelous art nouveau architecture. The street is like a museum and I would recommend getting a guide or having some kind of info so you can discern the different periods of nouveau architecture. The Art Nouveau Museum on the corner is also very interesting. Walking this street is like being transported back to the early 1900's

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The best Art Nouveau buildings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Try to visit this street and area early in the morning or late afternoon to void the large groups of tours, standing in the way of photo opportunities!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always look up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The walk along Alberta Iela is not to be missed. If you can, take a tour as you will get a better, fuller picture of the art work that will have you looking up.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberta Iela also viewed

 

Been to Alberta Iela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberta Iela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.