We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant and good food and also known as The Black Cat House Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melna Kaka Majas Restorans

Melna Kaka Majas Restorans
Meistaru iela 10/12, Riga, Latvia
+371 67 225 436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 615 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $93
Cuisines: European, Latvian, Eastern European
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
228 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and good food and also known as The Black Cat House Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We popped in here to try and get out of the rain. We were those folks who got lost on the free tour! Anyway, thank you to the staff of this lovely classic restaurant for great service, good food and welcoming the soaked, cold Texans in from the rain.
We were seated at a table graced with white tablecloths located by the large windows looking out onto the square in Old Riga. We love sauerkraut being from a German community in Texas so we tried the sauerkraut soup and fried onion rings. Our dishes were just perfect and along with a glass of wine we were ready to venture out again. I would highly recommend when in Old Riga as location was easy to get too and service was commendable. Thank you again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    36
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
262 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A strange experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was a very hot summer day in Riga and it was lovely to enter the cool restaurant. The interior is very nice and we were satisfied with the food we got. But the service was completely "Fawlty towers". The waitress was very kind, but did almost everything wrong. When we sat down, the table was set for four people and we were just two, but she didn't remove the two place settings. We ordered two first courses, but got just one to share. When I ordered wine, she seemed surprised that we wished to have wine. After a couple of minutes she returned and told the wine was sold out. I then asked which wine was the wine of the house. She told us and I then asked what country was the origin of that wine. She didn't know, but guessed Australia. After some reading in the menu she changed the country to Italy!!
Before she had removed the plates from the first course, she came with the main course. We had to remove the plates our selves. Then she disappeared without giving us a fork and a spoon. After waiting a couple of minutes for her to return I went to the bar and asked if she didn't notice we had no fork/spoon. She then apologized several times. But at the end she also came with the coffee without removing my main course plate. She seemed as a very kind and lovely girl, but without any training at all. I can never remember I have been at a restaurant where the waitress has done so much the wrong way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Place to eat national food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The place is right in the centre, we chose it because of quietness compare to other places.
Nice summer terrace, menu is not typical, but half of it was not available (sunday). Food was tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by during our walking in the city center.... Restaurant surprised us by really nice personnel. Prices were reasonable and we fully recommend to stop here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, LT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We came to this place occasionally and it had not impressed us at first glance. But at the end we understood that we made a right choice. The service was great, the food fresh and tasty, servings big. Waitress was very nice, polite and served us with all her heart. We had a fabulous dinner. The place is really recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melna Kaka Majas Restorans also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Melna Kaka Majas Restorans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melna Kaka Majas Restorans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.