We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food in a 20's atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mio

Mio
Blaumana 15, Riga, Latvia
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 635 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brussels
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a 20's atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We went here for lunch. I had the homemade pasta with creamy mushroom sauce and cheese. My wife had a arugula salad with duck confit. The pasta came with salad on top. Probably a no-no for italians, but I found it to be a very nice combination. My wife was very satisfied with the salad, which was well balanced. Service is good and so is the coffee. Prices are very reasonable. The whole place breathes a mix & match 20's atmosphere, including the music. We can recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great decor but average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Nice and cosy place, inside and out. Although outside is tiny, uncomfortable and claustrophobic. The decor and ambience is great but the food was nothing special for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“A perfect first night in Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We chose Mio as we were a bit tired from travels that day, it was on tripadvisor, and it was just a few minutes walk from our rental apartment. We were thrilled that we went. Our starters were a homemade fresh pasta and vegetable dish with arugula. My arugula salad with duck confit was delicious, it was enough to share, but I ate the whole thing. Not at all overdressed. Our mains were the incredibly tender, succulent, and moist calf cheek, possibly the best my husband ever had. I had the seared salmon trout on roasted vegetables, absolutely fresh and perfectly cooked med-rare. Portons are generous. It was the night of our 38th wedding anniversary and our waitress was kind enough to bring over 2 complimentary glasses of champagne. Vodka was cheap, and the wine by the glass very reasonable. It is pretty and comfortable inside, there is seating outside also. Service was very attentive and helpful, English was well spoken. A great value for this high quality food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I went there for just a dessert, and it was amazing - I definitely recommend Zefira kuku (a light like a cloud cake). The tea was also very good, and so were the service and the interior.

They have an interesting lunch and dinner menu, but I haven't tried that myself. Yet... Thinking of going there again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best calf cheek ever! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Calf /veal cheek was AMAZING!! Deffinitely come back for that great piece of meat. Also duck was tasty and nicely done. Sauces were good also. Small minus because we needed to ask wine two times and starters took a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mio also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.