We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great night...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amarone

Amarone
J.Alunana 2, Riga, Latvia
+ 37167324267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 614 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a great night...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were two hungry girls who walked into Amarone on a Saturday night without a reservation. We were quickly given a table and service throughout the night was delightful; quick and attentive. We had a salsiccia pasta and the red wine recommended by our waiter: oh my god if it was good. Followed up by a chocolate fondant that was delightful as well however maybe a little too sweet. We paid ~25 EUR per person for pasta, a glass of red wine, dessert and coffee, which with Stockholm standards is VERY affordable.

Interior and atmosphere is very nice including the old-fashioned bathrooms. The main thing I would suggest for this restaurant is to change their light bulbs: the place is just a little too light. Get filament lamps and perhaps some candles on the tables and the atmosphere would be even better and more romantic :)

Overall I strongly recommend this nice venue if you’re in for a superb Italian dinner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkenaer, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food experience in Riga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Excellent food! Super wine, perfect suggestion by the very competent waiter.
Excellent staff!
Nice location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent lamb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a very good dinner in Amarone with colleagues. I had a lobster cream soup (good), risotto with fillet of chicken, penny buns and zucchini (very good) and perfect grilled rack of lamb. Nice wines and excellent sommelier service. Will go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant in the Riga center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a nice modern restaurant-pizzeria in the very center of Riga, Latvia, 10 minutes walk from
old city and most attractions. The food is Italian-International, there are tables both inside and
outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy italian with so much taste and character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Outside is very relaxed outdoor setting. The food is superb. The staff helpful. Inside, warmly lit stone walls, with intimate settings to dine in for a romantic occasion, or with friends. The food is full of unique flavours that leave you wanting more, but the meals are well sized. Definitely if you like italian food, you will not be disappointed with the items on the menu here. It is the real deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarone also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Amarone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.