We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide Selection of Drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brevings

Brevings
Tirgonu St, 4, Riga, Latvia
+371 28348716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 578 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: Eastern European
Restaurant details
buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wide Selection of Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This had the widest selection of beers we had come across. The prices were very good and the food reasonable. Staff were very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good beer sortiment - some rare brands - but don't take ceasar salad:-)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I found the excellent tasting Brengulu alus = beer here, NICE. It's worth of trying, both dark one and light one. Didn' want to eat heavily - ordered caesar salad with grilled chicken - got some kind of salad with bacon. Where was the parmesan and romaine salad? This is maybe a very good place to taste beers but I will not eat here next time. Wrong dish was failure of young waitress who actually did ask me twice if I ordered caesar salad with chicken:-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Upon the completion of an Old Town Walking Tour our guide finished by bringing us to this restaurant for a shot of Riga Balsams. My family and I (10 in total) decided to stay for a meal on our guides recommendation and every one of us loved the experience. The staff were extremely friendly, the service was impeccable, the beer was cold and the food was delicious (and plentiful). We enjoyed it so much that we returned to this restaurant for another 6 meals during our 8 day stay in Riga and each experience was just as good as the last. Guaranteed, the ranking of Brevings will rise very quickly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Stop here if you like scotch or beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stopped in for a beer while my dad had a Talisker. Prices were reasonable for the scotch. The spicy wings were really good. Not sure if it was just that our waiter didn't speak much English or that we were American, but he was pretty short with us. I ordered a local beer and he shook his head and told me "No. This beer." pointing out another one on their fairly long list of local beer. I wasn't sure if me meant that the one I ordered was out and so I should try this one, or that the one I wanted was crap so let me order you one since you obviously know nothing about Latvian beer.

I'll definitely try and make it back here before I leave just to try some of their other menu items, which looked pretty tasty.

Their list of single malts was quite impressive. I don't know that I've even seen a bar in the states that has as many different bottles available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Personalized Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went here based on the recommendation of our tour guide when we asked about local cuisine, and weren't disappointed. I say personalized service because we were the only patrons they had all evening (it was a Monday), but our waitress still treated us like gold. The portions were large and came with side dishes, unlike other restaurants we'd been to. I had the ribs, and my wife had salmon, both were excellent. And if you're a beer connoisseur you'll be in heaven, they have a huge selection!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brevings also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Brevings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brevings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.