We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 3 Zivis - CLOSED

Bistro 3 Zivis
Smilsu Iela 14, Riga, Latvia
371 2 6660060
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just want to alert people that this is an expensive restaurant. We went there to try the food based on reviews on this website. We stopped at the menu at the door. I am glad we did; this is an expensive restaurant, even by Old Town standards. Entrees average 15-25 E before adding drinks or other food items.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Been there last Saturday and it is simply excellent. The interior is modern but cosy and the staff is very friendly and professional. We started with beautiful fresh Dutch oysters, served the way they should (on ice with lemon) with separately a nice vinegar and two different kinds of tabasco. The Gavi di cortese wine from Piemonte combined very well. Then, we had the pikeperch with grapefruit and quinoia which was prepared perfectly. The dessert of chocolate mousse with beetroot was both surprising and very tasty. Nice collection of digestives. This bistro is a true pearl in the Riga gastronomical landscape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best in Riga.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great surprise awaits you in this restaurant. Tasty well balanced and nicely presented dishes with great selection of wine. I am deeply impressed with creative approach and perfect execution that by great margin is better than anything else in town. Friendly and responsive service adds to perfect picture. Knowing how fast things change in these times of crisis, I would highly suggest to visit place before any change might impact current perfection. I will certainly will be returning customer and will highly suggest it to everybody. I believe that it makes sense to visit Riga just for a purpose of visiting this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fish bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you looking for fresh fish, best value and great interior - this is your place. Definitely recommended this bistro!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish/seafood experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really nice bistro with all the best features of this kind of place, not too pompous, with a quirky style (fantastic chenleiers go so well with more simple furniture), perfect for lunch or informal dinner. We really enjoyed the process of chosing seafood and fish at the counter, very helpful staff, explained everything, gave advice about the food. As a lunch for two we had a salad with squids in oil with olives, a fantastically prepared mixed platter of shellfish and mussels (chose every single one ourselves) with green salad and grilled gilthead bream with steamed vegetables. All this with two glasses of wine cost around 27Ls, for Latvia this might seem a bit expensive, but on the whole it's quite affordable. But of course what is much more important, everything tasted soooo good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 3 Zivis also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 3 Zivis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.