We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Son

Fisherman's Son
KaLku iela 2, Riga, Latvia
+371 67227505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 568 Restaurants in Riga
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: ”Strong and tough people live in this quiet corner of the earth ” Vilis Lacis says on coastal Latvians.In 1939, a feature film was made after his romana ”Fisherman`s Son” , depicting life in fishing villages, fishermen, their joys and troubles, harsh and full of risk everyday life. One generation inherits tools from the other, working methods and hope to become wealthier and independent.Oscar is a fisherman`s son, who is fighting for these ideals, with a bright mind, strong will and faith in a better tomorrow.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nice average food, but overpriced. You need to know, that You will gonna pay extra 10% on Your check: strange additional 10% restaurant mark-up (it isn't service fee!).
So don't forget also about tips!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    23
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Unfortunately very average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chose this restaurant because I was very hungry and tired due to searching good restaurant in Riga Old Town - what I didn't manage. So I entered this restaurant and my first impression was quite nice. Waiter was very helpful and atmosphere was nice and quite. Unfortunately food was very average. I took lamb chops which were rather tasting like mutton ones.
I will not try it for second time but I can not say that this choice was a mistake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very good first impression of Latvia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Well actually this was first place where I've come and had a meal. I decided since my colleagues told me 'bout this place. So.. Very good. Food was perfect and service as well. Prices? Actually i was expecting a bit more expensive, but it was ok ;). For a starter i had, fried lampreys - waiter told me that it's one of the Latvian national fishes. I've eaten this fish for a first time, and it was great!!! For the main course i took brown trout which was perfect as well - special thanks to chef :) That was really a journey for my stomach and i enjoyd it :) waiter was really kind to me from the begining of my visit. So i will come back here for 100%, but this time i'll take some national meat meal. Good luck guys - You're doing great!!!! :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food, but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I like fish and sea food so reading about this restaurant in the air baltic magazine made me check it out. A bit early in the evening (around 19 on a Friday) made it very lonely so I can't complain on lack of service. Very helpful, knowledgeable and service minded.

The restaurant itself has a good location in old town, but the interior and design was not so exiting. Very basic and dull is my impression.

The menu looked very good, a lot of different fish dishes (of course). The prices are definitely a bit higher than the competition, but i guess the location makes it an attractive choice for a lot of tourists.

The quality of the fish was very good. Unfortunately the side dish was not to the same standard. Felt a bit like the chef put all attention to the fish and forgot about the other stuff.

Overall, a good restaurant if you just want to have some fresh fish for lunch, but not a place to go for a full three course dinner with wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great traditional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This restaurant is not the most fancy or trendy, but a traditional place right in the historic centre of Riga. The service is very friendly and the fish was the freshest i have had in years. Given the quality of the fish I found the prices rather reasonable, even more so if you were to compare it with any other city in Europe. Great place. worth the visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Son also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Fisherman's Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Son, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.