We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Irina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Irina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Irina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkela str. 12, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly "Hotel Saulite")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 102 hotels in Riga
Mansfield, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel Irina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Hotel Irina is a simple, functional budget hotel. They offer basic amenities for a reasonable price. The breakfast that is included with the room is superb. The location is very good, being right down town across from origo and the train station. The city center is only about 2 blocks away. If you are looking for a hotel with alot of ambiance and amenities dont go here. If you need a clean decent place to stay that doesnt cost an arm and a leg this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    62
    39
    13
    19
See reviews for
15
38
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Hotel was clean and tidy, our group complained of the audible crossing outside that was relentless beeping making it impossible for a good nights sleep.

The main thing about Latvia is they never smile and everything is too much trouble. One girl on reception had worked 34 hours! So are you surprised. The service was an embarrassment to hospitality.

I met a Latvian girl on the plane home who also said she hated her own people for being so rude. If you walk through the door English courtesy dictates you look behind you, in Latvia not a hope! Really tired me.

Breakfast was OK.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

I think that some of the criticisms about this hotel are unfair.My room was fine,breakfast ok. and when I requested an extra pillow, it appeared in my room soon after.My room was cleaned each day with new towels.
I think that some people expect everything and this hotel is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Hotel situation was excellent for the sights of the City. Rooms were clean and reasonably comfortable. Thankfuly the temperature during our stay was a bit cool so we didn't have to open our window as the noise from the streets outside were very well insulated by the double glazing. The breakfast was a bit too russian for our liking. The two biggest problems during our stay were that the site we booked on stated that the hotel had an indoor pool - IT DOES NOT !! and secondly the staff were most unhelpful. I asked the blond receptionist to make a phonecall on our behalf to book a tour we were interested in the next day. She point blank refused to do this for me and was told to do it myself !!

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I had a one night stopover in Riga and needed somewhere cheap and central. In these respects the Hotel Irina was perfect.

It's situated right beside the train station and also close to where the airport bus (number 22, public bus) drops off at the Stockmann Centre/Forum Cinema. I was travelling alone and wasn't looking for anything special, just to be close to the station to get my train the next day and to be close to airport bus.

I paid about 40 lats for a small single room. It was basic but clean. Small single bed, TV with international channels, adequate bathroom, hairdryer. Breakfast was included in the price but I slept in. It's a Russian hotel so don't expect it to be super friendly but it is adequate. You can also leave your luggage in for the day but you're charged 1 lat. If you are planning a train, probably best to leave your luggage at the left luggage in train station where it also costs 1 lat.

This place is a good alternative to a youth hostel if you don't fancy sharing a room. It's cheap, basic, nothing special but does the job. Would recommend it for these reasons but if I was coming back to Riga with a friend/partner would stay somewhere a bit nicer, like the Hotel Elizabetes on Elizabetes Iela.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Room size (tiny)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I truly wish I could find a single nice thing to say about this hotel (then going by the name Saulite, I can see why they might change it) I guess there was the location which made it convenient for getting out! They raised the price of my room after I stayed there and did not clean the room, which was filthy. It was noisy, unsafe, overpriced for what it was and I dearly wish I could have found somewhere else. A friend had recommended it to me but I can't recommend it to anyone else with a good conscience. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — I suppose the dishonesty of the staff at the desk, matched closely by the filth.
  • Stayed July 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

1. The location was good. Essentially across the street from the train station, and a couple of blocks from the bus station. It was in the “newer” part of town, yet just a few blocks from the old town. The train station had a lot of stores and restaurants, and across the street from the train station, towards the bus station, was a large store/entertainment complex.
2. The hotel was older, but nicely renovated. There was a tiny exchange booth in the small lobby (average rates).
3. My room was small, but was comfortable and clean. The furnishings were a mixture of IKEA-type pieces and older pieces. The bathroom had been renovated and was very clean. My room was in the back and was quiet.
4. Staff was fine.
5. The price was very reasonable and included a very simple breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Irina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irina

Address: Merkela str. 12, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly "Hotel Saulite")
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 102 hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Irina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irina Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.