We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Irina to your Saves list
Hotel Irina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkela str. 12, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly "Hotel Saulite")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 102 Hotels in Riga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Happy with the place. room was clean and cosy. The best thing was for me that i was allowed to smoke in the room. So i had a chance to relax tottaly. There was some missunderstandings about minibar, but nothing major. Very helpfull staff on reception. I needed to take a train next morning, so location was just perfect, couldnt be better. Definatelly will come back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    73
    50
    13
    21
See reviews for
21
45
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have to agree with the other positive posts on this hotel. A good option with an affordable price tag! Clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast of cold meats, fresh fruits, coffee, cereal and cooked eggs, sausages all served from 8am.
Situated centrally (catch the 22 bus to/from the airport which stops close by) and easy walking distance to the old town and across the road from the station, I ate and drank in many of the restaurants and bars close to the hotel which had a more local mix than the some of the stag night british bars in the old town.
So in totality a good, perfectly acceptable place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very positive experience at this little hotel.

When approaching the hotel, the area you find yourself in is a bit...bleugh...as it's directly across from the train station, and faces a busy road in central Riga.

However, literally 4-5 minutes walk in one direction, you'll find the Old Town, and 4-5 minutes walk in the other direction is the area of the Freedom Monument. So, it's spectacularly well-located.

Inside Irina, facilities are quite basic (though by no means poor), yet are well-kept. Rooms are sparse, but clean.

Our room (a 'cosy' double) was very small, but this didn't matter. The bed was small, but comfortable, and adequate for two sleepers. TV channels were naff (though let's face it, we didn't go on holiday to watch telly), but gentlemen guests may be, erm, surprised by the very naughty channel we found to be broadcasting in the middle of the day! (Channel 39!).

Our bathroom was fab (clean, modern, equipped), and actually quite large! Towels were changed daily. In fact, we had to politely shoo our cleaner away for two of our four days, as she wanted to vacuum our room constantly! Lovely woman, doing a great job.

We didn't have much dealing with other staff, but they appeared to be helpful and courteous, with younger staff being fluent in English.

The hotel's lift/elevator makes a lotttt of noise :) If this is a problem, ask for a room away from the elevator shaft (ours was right next to it).

TIP: The way the hotel is situated means that the most direct route to the Old Town is via a couple of underground subways. These are fine during the day and feel safe, thanks to the throngs of locals and tourists. However, the subways at night appear to attract ne'er do wells! We witnessed several vagrants bedding down for the night, which is sad to see in a lovely city like Riga. I NEVER felt unsafe at night, though more intrepid guests may prefer to add 1-2 minutes onto their journey and walk overground only.

Due to its location, Hotel Irina is very well-situated for train travel (1 minute walk to central station), and very well connected to the bus/tram system. One airport bus (private, costs about 70p) stops around 6 mins walk from the hotel, whereas the public airport bus (costs about 80p) stops around 4 mins walk from the hotel.

Don't expect the Hilton, but do expect a good-quality, affordable bed for the night, close to central attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The location is great: right in the city center. The main train and bus stations are across the road, walk to the Old city takes about 10 minutes. Shopping malls and restaurants are within walking distance. The room is small but neat and clean. It was a little bit noisy but totally bearable to sleep. The view to the central station was very nice. The staff were nice and helpful, the girl on the reception gave us some tips about sights and restaurants. The breakfast was OK, except for the French fries they served in the morning (which was kind of weird). Overall it was a good experience, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel Irina is perfectly situated, for both Shopping and Historical Old Town attractions.
It is to be found opposite McDonalds & the Internet Cafe.
The number 22 Bus from the AIRPORT stops directly opposite @ STOCKMANN's the Finnish department store, the CENTRAL RAILWAY Station and just further up, the Bus Station.
The fare from the airport is 70 cents (ONE LAT = 90p approx - 2013 tarrif).

The room if NOT luxurious was COMFORTABLE, the shower temperature was a bit temperamental, the BUFFET BREAKFAST was constantly replenished and very tasty.
MANY positives - and the cost of the room, is NOT prohibitive.

I would certainly stay again, and would reccomend it to you.
Unfortunately the Hotel charges 1 LAT per suitcase for left luggage - unnecessary and I doubt if it makes them a profit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Have stayed there several times over the past few years for 5 - 9 days and always enjoyed. Friendly staff, near train station and local transportation stops. Short walk to country wide bus stop and old town another short walk. Several large markets (for those who like to keep snacks in the room), stores and restaurants in the area. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast bar is great with a large selection to choose from. You have to pay for WI-FI but it's cheap and works well.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor if possible, rooms much smaller with no closet and I was put in one on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Irina during my weekend trip to Riga in november 2012. The hotel is small, nice, clean, easy-going and located very well in the heart of the city. One can walk everywhere, to the old town, buss stop, opera house, train station, centraltirgus. The room was an average experience; I expected nothing more. Like always, you get what you pay for, but in case Irina the tone is positive. Earplugs are strongly recommended, 'cause the traffic keeps running all night. I would definitely stay again. Next time will ask for an extra pillow, though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irina

Address: Merkela str. 12, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly "Hotel Saulite")
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irina 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Irina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irina Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.