We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Irina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Irina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Irina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkela str. 12, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly "Hotel Saulite")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 102 hotels in Riga
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I together with his parents and his sister stayed at Hotel Irina for 2 nights. I'm surprised to find bad references for this hotel as we didn't have anything bad to say about it. The hotel has good location, our room was spacious enough for us, there is a minibar where we stored some of the fruits and cheese we bought at the market. Upon arrival we got a room where people has apparently been smoking, but when we asked to change they did it without any problems. We didn't hear any of our neighbors either (maybe there weren't any at the moment?).
So overall, you don't get a 5-star experience, but you don't pay much for your stay either, so if you travel on a middle budget and want good central location-it's perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    62
    40
    13
    19
See reviews for
15
39
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Me and my sister stayed in hotel for 1 night, but staff attitude and service was out of comments. It was very loud music in restaurant, they hired that for party. We couldn't relax. We left hotel early , 6.30 am.but staff didn't care about our breakfast. However, we don't advise this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The sound proofing in this hotel is negligible. I am not sure why they bothered with double glazing because the walls are paper thin and I was also next to a lift and stair well and could hear the lift's hydraulics and people thumping up and down all night. There is no air system in the room so do not attempt to stay here during summer. The room was small, dingy, dark and depressing. The hotel stuffed up my wake up call and were extremely rude. I also got food poisoning from eating the included breakfast. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel on 2012 New Years Eve. The hotel was almost fine, staff on reception was friendly, BUT:

- Windows were broken, they didnot close completely and it was cold in the room

- seems like nobody has cleaned our room during the whole stay

- the celebration of New Years Eve was totally awful. the champagne was served onle after 12:00, one hour after the the beginning of the meal. The first course was served only after the champagne..

- restaurant staff swear in russian in front of you.

- no omlet/fried eggs for breakfast

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valga
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Their motto is absolutely right. I was pleased to find such a convenient hotel in some steps from the railway station. Though they announce themselves as three star hotel, there are some symptoms of a higher level. Such as minibar and superb breakfast. WiFi is for small charge. Not sure, but there might be problems with closer car parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here for two nights as part of tour of Baltics (booked by tour company). It was terrible. Our room was built around the lift shaft and looked out onto a noisy street where trolley bus lines connected resulting in a dreadful whining/scraping noise everytime one came along, added to that there were cars, buses, people shouting. I had to wear earplugs at night. The carpet was worn and torn and as the previous reviewer said the room was not made up until after about 4pm!! The hotel is on the route into the town from the station so there is a constant stream of people passing it and the area was not very nice. Breakfast was not great. Over all the hotel could do with a major overhaul - it is classed as three star but I think 1 star may be nearer the truth. I think it is one of the worst if not the worst hotel I have stayed in and I would never go back.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Recently stayed at the Irina in September 2011 whilst on a stag do, overall it was a pleasant experience.

The hotel was immaculately clean and quiet when I stayed there, however I get the impression there may be a lot of stag parties staying there over the course of the year, as we got a bit of a frosty reception from the security guard, and most of the reception staff.

We're not into the whole run around naked screaming reputation that seems to follow Brits abroad, but you could tell that they get a lot of that in this hotel as there was a detailed list of fines for indulging in such activities.

I stayed in a single room, which was very tiny but again very clean. I've slept on more comfortable beds, but no real complaints. Good size bathroom with a spacious, powerful shower. Fairly priced mini bar and a skylight which you could stick your head out of and admire the view. My friends who were in a triple had two single beds and some sort of fold out armchair bed - looked like a tight squeeze!

The hotel is in a great location for restaurants, local parks, tram and bus stops and only a short walk from what seemed to be a popular bar area.

I didn't make it down for breakfast on either morning, so can't tell you about that!

There is a foreign exchange in the reception area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing South East towards the square may pick up a bit of noise from the events they have ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Irina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irina

Address: Merkela str. 12, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly "Hotel Saulite")
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 102 hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Irina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irina Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Irina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.