We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST Hotel Riga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST Hotel Riga to your Saves list
BEST Hotel Riga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 11 Gimnastikas Street, Riga LV-1004, Latvia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we booked this hotel at the last minute after a nights stay in a poor apartment in jurmala, and im glad we did, its a little bit of a gem, we had a double with an extra bed which was a bit tight but ok, nice and clean, with a good breakfast included, there is also a bar and resturant, and a hotel taxi which we used twice (good prices) .
the hotel is a minutes walk to the no.27 trolly bus which takes you into the center of riga in 20/25 minutes for .70 lats and our 9 year old went free.there is free internet and an information station, and a computer if needed, very helpful reception and bar staff,
there is also a supermarket just down the road (5 min walk) for your own snacks and drink.

Room Tip: if you are a family maybe a family room might be bigger but you can manage in a double with extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
29
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Best is located at the other side of the river from the Old Town. It is too far to walk but you can catch the trolleybus from the corner which will take you to where the action is. Ask the reception which number to take and how much it costs.

If you come by car, the hotel has it's own car park with many parking spaces.

Our room was very small and with an extra bed there was no room to open our suitcase. There was no air conditioning and the bathroom had such a bad smell coming from the drain that I felt sick every time I opened the door! To me the smell was the worst thing about this hotel.

Breakfast was very basic.

Service was far from friendly - it seemed like asking anything was a nuisance. I'd rather not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in Best Hotel and found it to be an excellent value for money. The room itself was basic and the walls were quite thin. However, it was extremely clean. Breakfast was good. It provided an airport pick-up which was cheaper than getting a taxi. It also had a restaurant with variety of dishes and the food was very nice! Even though it was not near the Old Town, it was very easy to go there as the bus stop was less than 2 minutes walk. Overall, great hotel, will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Best Hotel Riga. It is a nice budget hotel, with everything necesary.

Rooms were ok, although in twin room, the beds were quite small. Breakfast was ok, buffet table with warm and cold food, juice, coffee.

Parking in safe closed courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is our third or fourth time using this hotel, so you can tell we think it is good value. It is easily reached from the airport by car and it is relatively quick to get on the highway from here. We especially appreciate the fairly large, convenient (and free!) parking lot.

Last summer the new wing opened, and we are happy to say it is a good improvement--offering an elevator and a much more spacious breakfast room. The breakfast is average, but not expensive. The coffee is good and everything is fresh.

Although the quality of the furnishings in the new wing is a step up from the old, the room arrangement in our twin was a little unusual: L-shaped with one bed stuck in a very narrow corridor made by space left over from the bathroom. Unfortunately the cleaning crew had left our window open and the heat off, so when we arrived the room was icy. It took some time to warm up, but we had plenty of hot water for showers.

We will probably use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

While visiting friends in Latvia we decided to see some other places. We stayed in Hotel Riga in Riga. There was free parking, which was nice, there was also shuttle bus service provided. We took advantage of the restaurant on the main floor several times, great food. We booked a budget private double room for $45.60 a night. Very reasonable I felt. The room was very comfortable and the beds comfortable. Staff was great from check in to the time we checked out. Very quiet, my only complaint would be the coffee at breakfast. I was glad that it was for the most part a smoke free place.

Room Tip: smokers have a place in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here in the Summer and used it as a base for exploring Riga. The staff were very helpful although the check in was quite slow even though it was not busy. From near by the hotel you can get a trolley bus (not very expensive) that takes you to the centre of Riga where there are all sorts of interesting sights to see. It is also a short drive to the airport if like us you have a hire car. Internet was very very poor which I found really frustrating, I've decided I would rather a hotel did not provide internet at all than to provide a service that is so slow and crashing like this one. Staff were helpful with directions. Parking round the back no problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST Hotel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST Hotel Riga

Address: 9 / 11 Gimnastikas Street, Riga LV-1004, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST Hotel Riga 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST Hotel offers quality budget accommodation a short ride from Riga's old town. Lobby area is of a good size and is decorated with a modern feel using neutral colours. Rooms are of a good size as are the bathrooms, and offer all of the facilities expected of a 3-star hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. The hotels restaurant is located on the ground floor and offers wide assortment of foods and drinks. Free secured parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST Hotel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST Hotel Riga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.