We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   K. Valdermara Iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located in a Jugend-style building between the Old City and the Art Noveau district, walking distance to both. Nice staff. Free waffles in the afternoon and free evening meal. A family-operated hotell with an exciting background story, read about the buried silver treasure in the little book in the hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    180
    46
    19
    7
See reviews for
65
170
40
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there in 2014, Riga was the European capital of Culture. I liked the hotel. The staff is very polite and friendly. I liked the breakfast and the free coffee. I had a view on the main street but it wasn't loud or something like that. Everything was clean. The location is great, It is close to the Riga old town. Worth to see. Some of the colleagues were in a smaller rooms, but mine was good :)

Room Tip: Room with a view to the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear DarkoILI

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that you are one of our returning guests. I think that is the best sign of a satisfied guest. You are welcome back once again at any time and then please stop by my office.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely staff, free coffee and nibbles a nice touch - back yard nice and relaxing.

However, our room was very small, no minibar, no A/C (we had cool weather, so was ok), lots of noise from the back yard - but the worst were the tiles in the shower... It looked like a student flat or something. The tiles and "joints" looked moldy and corners were black (I should add that the tiles are white).

The beautiful hallway had chandeliers that had months worth of dust on them...

I do love the Choice hotels, and usually choose them whenever I can, so I am extra disapointed about my choice of hotel this time...

I need to add that the location is good and within a short walking distance from the old town.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SteveogEsther,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you did enjoy the staff, the food and our beautiful backyard. As I understand it was the rooms and the cleaning that was not up to your expectations. We will definitely look into it, I think it is very important that the hotel is nice and tide so that our guests can just relax when staying in the hotel.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is by far the best value for a hotel that I have ever stayed. The breakfast was very good and the dinner was excellent. Having an evening meal saved a lot of money and the selection was great. Soup, salad and a hot entree. The room was basic but spacious for a European hotel and was clean and nicely appointed. The staff was very helpful and the hotel location was perfect for walking to the old city and many of the beautiful parks in Riga. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ARD0311,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. It is was great to read that guests have appreciated their stay with us and the Clarion Collection concept, where we offer complimentary food. I do also thin that the hotel has a perfect location, is it close to the old town, just through the park but away from all the noise and crowds of people.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Valdermars is a real find. Situated in the beautiful Art Nouveau area, a leisurely 15 minute walk through the park to the Old Town, it makes a wonderful home from home for your stay in Riga. Stylish simple rooms, comfortable beds, armchairs, one holding a teddy bear to keep you company.. But the real charm lies in the comfortable lounge area, the glassed in winter garden with wicker chairs and books to read, along side an outdoor terrace. There is a plentiful buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, and to my surprise a "light dinner" for the guests included in the price.
The staff are friendly, helpful and speak excellent English. I will certainly stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the courtyard are quieter. The powerpoint in the bathroom is located on the light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SydneyMaie,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our stay with us and you are absolutely right the charm is in our lunge area, glassed winter garden and the terrace.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Still here spending two nights in Riga and I cannot say how great it is here. Upon arrival we were given a room but it was too hot and they quickly changed us to a room with air con. The two staff members looking after us are the best we have come across. Really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the free evening meal is actually really good too! Not to mention free waffles if you get hungry throughout the day. Hotel is only 15mins amble to the main town area and has free parking behind the hotel in a garage. Highly recommend this hotel that absolutely focusses on the people staying there. If I return to Riga I will stay here again.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear PeteTPie,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor, especially at it seems as if you are still staying with us.

I tried to find you in our system but couldn’t identify you, please come by my office if you are still in the hotel. I am so glad to read that you enjoy our food concept but most of all the service. We always try put a lot of effort into making sure that our guests get the best out of their stay both in the hotel and in Riga.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is not often you get to stay in a hotel that has a history / story like a "made for TV" story line. This is one of the few places that we have stayed in that has heart warming story to go along with the stay and it will make you appreciate your stay that much more. As a choice for lodging it was chosen as a compromise of location, price and rating. What a pleasant surprise we had with this hotel. It should be considered a first choice hotel. If you are unfamiliar with Riga as we were, we were concerned that the old town would be a bit far. We were happy to see that that the old town is an easy 5 minute walk through a pretty park. The rooms are tastefully remolded and we did not encounter any of the problems that a previous guest encountered with equipment or decor. The room was huge and had high ceilings. Bathroom was small but tasteful and did the job. The breakfast and the dinner provided were excellent and plenty to choose from particularly vegetables. The common areas well maintained and nicely decorated. The staff was super helpful and the outside area in front of the entrance was nicely laid out and provide a bit of peace and calm in the middle of the city.

All in all, excellent stay would recommend and would come back and stay again.

Please note that items in Latvia are priced in euros, despite web sights and even restaurants will listed items in Latvia former currency.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mcmurrytravels,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars on Tripadvisor.

Also a big thank you for your very nice review, you are right the story behind the hotel is made for TV. I personally think it is a very unique hotel with the history, the atmosphere and the fantastic staff working in the hotel.

Warmest,
Helen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#51 of 103 in Riga
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 103 in Riga
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Latvija
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars

Address: K. Valdermara Iela 23, Riga 1010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#15 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Valdemar you live in comfort and style in the heart of Riga's history and culture. The over 100 year old house is an example of Riga's unique Art Nouveau architecture and total renovated in 2006.Hotel Valdemar is located in central Riga, only a few minutes walk from Old Town. On the tranquil courtyard, you can during the summer months enjoy a cup of coffee in the sun, while the one million city of Riga pulsates just outside.We want to take good care of our guest we therfore offer all our guest complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal between 18:00 and 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Riga
Clarion Collection Valdemars

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Valdemars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.