We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For this price you can find better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Krisjanis & Gertrude

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Krisjanis & Gertrude to your Saves list
Krisjanis & Gertrude
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Krisjana Barona iela 39, Riga LV-1011, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Riga B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“For this price you can find better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is close to the old city and city center. The staff is really friendly and the young girl who attended me spoke good English. The hotel was clean and the bed was quite good. It is a an old wooden house, refurbished, that shakes every time the tram passes by. The walls are thin so you can clearly hear what is happening in the next room. For this price I have found better places to stay in Riga...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by people in the next room, and we shall certainly look at the possibility of improving the sound insulation when we next refurbish. It is however not a general problem. The shaking sometimes when a tram passes is unfortunate, but is because the house, being an early 19th century construction does not have very deep foundations.

We disagree however, that one can find better for the price in Riga. With the level of service, the homeliness, and proximity to the centre you will not find at a substantially lower price. It is rather unfortunate that this phrase has been taken as the title of your review and thus attracts attention, especially as most of your other comments were either positive or about matters beyond our control. On the subject of price, it always is disconcerting for us as owners of such a wonderful property in Riga to travel on business to other countries such as UK, US, or Germany and have to pay double, often triple the amount that we can charge our own guests in Riga. The standard abroad is often significantly lower even at the higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
9
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, and am so glad I chose this place. It really is a home away from home. I was given a 3-person room,which was very comfortable. It was cleaned and serviced daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great-an easy 15-minute stroll from the Old Town (or 2 tram stops). There is a supermarket opposite, and I could sue the fridge to store some things. Great value for money. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Riga!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. To quote John Dowland "Come again!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This must be the best value for money in Riga. I come to Riga every 2 months and have stayed in lots of hotels which have been OK but nothing special. I tried this place last time and it is better than many hotels 3 times the price. I am wriitng this review from my second stay. The staff are warm with their welcome. They are attentive. On the first day of my stay there was no English breakfast tea but by the time I returned to my room later there was some in there and a whole box in the kitchen. Such touches are much appreciated. The rooms are comfortable and have tea and coffee making facilities which is unheard of in Riga. There is a little kitchen where breakfast is made and you can use the facilities during the day. If you want the anonominity of a big hotel then this cosy homely place is not for you. I will certainly be back.

Be aware though that the rooms are on the first and second floor with no lift.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the street which can be a bit noisy but the double glazing helps enormously i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Pros: excellent price, very large room, computer for guests, good location, decent breakfast

Cons: decor is dated and a little ragged. I don't care too much about the looks as long as it is clean and comfortable but things like torn and stained carpet are a negative. Place could be great with some new paint, flooring and textiles.

Overall it was good for the price. If you want simple and affordable then consider staying here.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

What a wonderful little place. Solvita and Inara (and the rest of the gracious staff) run a lovely little B&B. It is not a fancy place with marble and gold -- just a modest townhouse with everyday furnishings. You will not have wood floors or fancy carpeting, but all is comfortable.

The location is good and you can walk to most tourist sights. Inside, there is a cozy common area with a piano and a kitchen off to the side where you can prepare simple meals if you wish. A mall with a decent supermarket is just across the street. You can avail yourself of free coffee and tea all day. A phone and a computer are at your disposal if you need to surf/email or make local calls.

But what really stands out is the excellent customer service. Because we were traveling with two young children, they upgraded us to the very spacious triple rooms. After breakfast the first morning, Solvita made nice suggestions for family outings and recommended places to dine without my asking her to do so. And when our daughter spoiled her shirt at breakfast one morning, Inara offered to throw the clothes into the wash. Really thoughtful.

Finally, we extended our stay the last minute but then had to leave that afternoon because of lack of availability on a bus. We were astounded to hear at 4PM that the hotel would give the afternoon free because they had had no other booking so there was no opportunity cost.

Also, our young son broke an inexpensive window-treatment accessory and we fully expected to pay for replacing it. We even pointed out the damage. But we realized after check out that they had charged us nothing. Really admirable and generous in every way.

A few things some might wish to know: the windows at the hotel are VERY good and you won't hear much unless you are very sensitive to noise. But you will feel the vibration from the trams once in a while during the day when they operate. And while the single beds were extremely comfortable, I was able to detect the coils through the double mattresses with my hand. But fortunately, I was not able to discern them while sleeping/lying in bed. And as the place is a small B&B, there is no lift/elevator to the third floor where the rooms are.

All in all, one of the two most gracious and generous hotels I have been to in over 30+ countries. I HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I arrived in the place at 6 AM. The front door was open so I entered and went to the 2nd floor, where the reception is located. Of course, no one was there in the reception, although they previously asked me by mail at what time I would be arriving so they could be prepared. I got there earlier than expected, so that's why nobody was there. At 7:30, a lady came and the first thing she did was to offer me a cup of coffee. She apologized as my room wouldn't be ready until noon, since I was checking in that day. But when she realized how tired I was (as I had travelled all the night) , she offered a little private room (probably for the staff) where I could rest until my room was prepared. Of course I accepted and slept there until 11 AM. When I got up, she told me that my room was ready and she offered to have breakfast. I had only reserved for one night but I got almost two nights. I was given a big room with a very high quality queen size bed. Although the place is just a B&B, it's much better that many hotels 3 and even 4 stars I've been.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We found this place on our first morning in Riga purely by chance after discovering that where we had booked in advance was not what we expected. Krisjanis and Gertrude was half the price, and with such a pleasant atmosphere. One lady was able to answer any question we had in German, and another spoke English like a real Lady. They gave us some good tips about concerts and where to find the art galeries. I only wish that they had a name that was easier to remember, so I can book there next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krisjanis & Gertrude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krisjanis & Gertrude

Address: Krisjana Barona iela 39, Riga LV-1011, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krisjanis & Gertrude 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Krisjanis Barons street where is crosses Gertrude street, in Riga centre, this B&B is named after both streets. Each of the 6 rooms has an individual style. The design attempts to capture the charm and comfort of the best small hotels in UK provincial cities. Many of the guests are artists or musicians. A large common room can be used for meetings and has a PC with Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Krisjanis & Gertrude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krisjanis & Gertrude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.