We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL AND A REASONABLE PRICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Teater to your Saves list
City Hotel Teater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bruninieku 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Asker, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL AND A REASONABLE PRICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel in late April in connection wit a seminar which took place at the hotel. The hotel has a good location, reasonable price and a staff who understood English quite well. The room where we held the seminar was rather small and during the seminar we had to open the windows several times. The equipment we needed worked good, and the meals we had were good.

My room was simple and and did not contain much equipment, but as most of my time was spent on the seminar, it was OK, taking into consideration the moderate price.

After the seminar soem of us went for a stroll to the charming old city and walked through beautiful jugend style houses. The old city was easy to rach from the hotel.

I also like to recommend a small a small and modest restaurant in the builiding next to the hotel. Some of us had dinner there before we should leav. The food was very good, cheap and well prepared, Much value for money!

I can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap and quiet place with a good breakfast in an OK dining room, located slightly outside the center but within walking distance to some of the more famous places

Henry Grindheim
Asker
Norway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
45
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

just a good hotel, good location 15 min walk from the old city, good restaurant and good english staff.
Just in the corner you have a market to buy some things, clean and spacious rooms.
We stayed 2 nights, the first night i advice some problemas with the fridge, but not have any notice, and when we left the hotel the fridge still doesn t work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adapazari, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotels position is good. Easy access to the old city. The hotel is also almost in the center. If you like walking easy and enjoyable to walk to the old city. It takes only 15 minutes. The hotel is clean and nice. Comparing to the price of the room, it is very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location was good and gave plenty of opportunity to explore the city. Our room was very big and well furnished. A few of our groups rooms had a smell of detergent, but wasn't too bad. The breakfast was good, although a few strange options were available and some was a bit cold as it was a buffet. However we had no real complaints, especially bearing in mind the price we paid. Would return if I go back to Riga.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel was at a good location for exploring Riga. The room had a strong chemical smell that indicated it was cleaned regularly, but I would have preferred something more neutral. The main problem was the water pressure and temperature in the shower which was difficult to control and kept changing. And, when you are visiting Riga in the winter (or very cold spring) you want hot water there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the 2nd time i stayed in Teaterhotel in a short time. Its a nice pleasant priced hotel only 15 minutes walk from center. The rooms are big and clean. Only the safebox could be better placed higher.
Breakfast was more than enough and i must say also for dinner there is a small menu, and the chef knows what he is doing. Wonderfull dinner. The hotel Teater is for me a hotel i will allways come back.

Room Tip: rooms streetsite are also not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Public Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear bert040,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you again at the City Hotel TEATER and fulfill your dreams.

Have a great day!

Kind regards,
Anastasija Moisejeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We really enjoyed the clean and beautiful rooms, tasty rich breakfast, elegant restaurant and friendly personnel of the hotel. The location is very very good - in the city center, yet quiet area. Highly recommended for a romantic stay in Riga or for families with children. Many thanks for making our weekend beautiful!

Guests from Estonia and Lithuania

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Maia,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on TripAdvisor.
We hope to welcome you again at City Hotel Teater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Address: Bruninieku 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Riga
#21 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#24 Business Hotel in Riga
#32 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 3 stars hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre.Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude’s church etc.The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby–bar are located under a glassed ceiling which connects both buildings of the hotel.The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and terrace on the 8th floor.Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city.Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Teater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.