We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right place to stay if the price is right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Teater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Teater to your Saves list
City Hotel Teater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bruninieku 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Right place to stay if the price is right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very good and inexpensive accommodation for non-demanding travellers. Located next to main street Brivibas and in 15 min easy-walking distance from the Historic Centre and the Old Town. Room was not very large but decently clean; the shower room was almost the same size as the bedroom, had window. Bed was not too comfy, but at least provided sleeping in horizontal position. Breakfast was remarkable, very good in variety and quality... and with a nice view on surroundings from the 7th floor. Staff? I did not noticed much stuff... just a couple of persons, all fine with them. Conclusively: very good hotel, price/quality ratio is superb (got double for 29 EUR/night)

There is a lot of cafes and bars around that will not leave you hungry and thirsty during you visit to Riga. You may try atmospheric Tea Club "Zen" (Stabu str. 6) for great variety of teas, lounge music and a water pipe, 2-3 minutes from the hotel.

Parking and soundproof could be marked as strong disadvantages of this hotel. no private parking, public parking is free only in the evening/night, Sundays and public holidays. Inside walls have no sign of soundproof, you will hear every move of your neighbours and in corridor (incl. elevators)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment. I hope you will come again on your next visit to Riga.
Have a beautiful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    85
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
53
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel has big rooms and bathrooms. It is clean but do not expect any luxury. The lobby area is nice. The location is not bad, about 15 min walk to the old town. It is a pleasant walk but when you do it couple of times it is tiring. Didn't like the breakfast much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We have a new chef and he is creating new À la carte menu and breakfast now is much better as well.
I hope you will come again to our Hotel!

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzzara (MN)
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Some taxi driver know this hotel as City Hotel others as Teater Hotel. Me and my wife planned to stay 15 days. But as we arrived we found it so ugly and far from the centre that we decided to leave after 3 days. The reception's employee asked us to pay the full price of 225 Euros ! Crazy !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you that you spent some time to comment our hotel. The Hotel was opened in 2000 as City Hotel Bruninieks, in 2012 was made last renovation and hotel has changed name to City Hotel TEATER. For some people was difficult to pronounce Bruninieks, so they called our Hotel briefly "City Hotel", but the real name since March 2012 is City Hotel TEATER.
The distance from the Hotel to Old town is 10-15 minutes walk, or just 3 minutes by car. Some tourists enjoy of walk on Liberty street with a lots of shops and modern houses. So it depends, did you come to Riga to see only old town and noisy centre or to explorer something more. It's a shame that you didn't like our hotel, because most people love it. But anyway thank you again for your comment, I hope next time you will enjoy more of staying in Riga.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It is now called Teater Hotel when you book it on the net, the taxi drivers still call it Brunenieks, but the big Neon Sign says City Hotel, so take your pick. The booking was made on Booking.com using American Express to secure the booking, only to be told on arrival that they do not accept American Express, quite embarrassing, although the lady at reception was very polite, and explained I could pay on check-out in cash, as they also do not accept traveler checks. The room at first appearance was quite sparse, the bathroom had the added luxury of a heated towel rail nad a heated floor, once you worked out how to set it on. In the three nights there I saw housekeeping once to empty an overflowing bin, and to give me some new towels. Beds were never made, room not serviced or cleaned. On the day when I had the audacity to place a "please tidy my room" sign on the door they just turned it around to "do not disturb". Strange habits. Saving grace is sitting on the 7th floor for breakfast, watching the Riga Panorama in the sunlight, whilst enjoying a reasonable "Latvian" breakfast with lousy coffee. Certainly the price is a boon, the reception staff greatly helpful, and not too far from all facilities. So maybe, once house keeping understands that rooms should be serviced daily it has a great potential, whatever name they finally choose

Room Tip: Have Dinner at Uno Momento for some great Italian if you want a change from Latvian - a bit of a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A very nice and clean hotel with excellent service. Very good value for money.
Try to get a top floor room which offers an excellent view over the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room which offers an excellent view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed in Bruninieks Hotel last weekend with my spouse. This is not usual cramped std hotel, but located in town house with high cealings and spacious rooms. I'm allergic to small hotel rooms and this hotel was good surprise at that price level. Location is pretty good, 10 minutes walk to old town, in silent street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a group of 20 friends from Italy staying here and everyone enjoyed their stay. The hotel was simple, yet comfortable and clean, but what pleasantly surprised us was the top quality service that we have received there.
The stuff was very helpful and the manager Simona did a wonderful job at making us feel welcome. We would recommend ANYONE staying at City Hotel Bruninieks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastasija M, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel Teater, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Arina,

I would like to thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to City Hotel Teater!

Have a nice sunny day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Teater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Teater

Address: Bruninieku 6, Riga 1010, Latvia (Formerly City Hotel Bruninieks)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#12 Family Hotel in Riga
#23 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#30 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#30 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Teater 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel TEATER is one of the most enjoyable 3 stars hotels in Riga. The hotel is located opposite to the Dailes Theatre in a vibrant cultural and business part of Riga centre.Old town is only in 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes driving distance. Nearby the Hotel one can find many landmarks such as Arena Riga, Skonto Exhibition Hall, Galleria Riga shopping center, Royal Casino, Olympic Sports Center, Gertrude’s church etc.The hotel is in a beautiful Art-Nouveau style building which was built in 1905. The 24h front-desk and lobby–bar are located under a glassed ceiling which connects both buildings of the hotel.The hot buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 7th floor with magnificent view over the city. Hotel offers relaxation in Sauna with pool, Beauty Salon and terrace on the 8th floor.Hotel has smoking area with stunning views over the city.Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel Teater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Teater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.