We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bergs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bergs to your Saves list
Hotel Bergs
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 / 85 Elizabetes, Riga LV-1050, Latvia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Riga
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was in Riga for the first time and it was unforgetable. Hotel Bergs was offering whatever I could dream of. Friendly and smiling stuff, wonderful rooms, breakfast was amazing and atmosphere of the place is just superb. I will recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    45
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
68
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Bergs for 5 nights in October of 2012. To say we absolutely loved it would be an understatement! Everything was perfect, beginning with the airport pick-up by a private car and driver arranged by the hotel. I would strongly recommend this service and the pricing is competitive with local taxi service. The Reception Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We took advantage of the special offer the hotel published on their website, which included breakfast each day, one lunch, and a room upgrade. The decor in our Suite was exquisite...very modern. Housekeeping did an excellent job; both of our rooms and the large bathroom were immaculate. Breakfast each morning was simply amazing! One could not ask for better food or a more attentive wait staff. One morning, when I had overslept, my husband went down to eat just before breakfast ended and the wait staff insisted on preparing a tray and bringing it up for me. Of special note was the exceptional private car and driver that the Hotel arranged for us for our day trip to Liepaja. Didzis was with us for ten hours and helped us explore the back roads into Liepaja as well as the Baltic Sea Coast. During our stay in Riga, we looked at several of the other highly rated hotels and we both agreed that we would select Hotel Bergs as the overwhelming favorite!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the larger suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good beds, good breakfast, good location. We ordered massage for 2 people at 11.00 am, but when we came for the treatment, they had only one bed. That they could have told us when we ordered. We were 8, and reserved a table in the hotels restaurant the day after, but when we arrived, they had no reservation. BUT, they gave us their libraryroom, and offered a really good dinner which were not on the menu. So we were very satisfied after all. The service we got, was terrific. Walking distance from shops, opera etc. Pillowmenu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just perfect. Nice and attentive staff. Clean, quite, nice beds, large rooms. Good food. Best of all is maybe the location, a little back from main street in the Bergs Bazar area. If in Riga, stay here. A small advice to the hotel staff, turndown service should be high on your list when you consider what to do to improve your guests experience in your hotel.

Room Tip: All ok it seems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Interesting location near, but not inside, the city center.
Not a big hotel, with strange mix of familiar & professional feeling.
Quite expensive, but rooms are really nice and clean and the service is at the top.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the 2 floors rooms: they have special atmosphear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very nice, modern hotel, in a cool building, situated in its own courtyard of nice shops and restaurants. It is a little bit outside of the Old Riga area, but a 5 five minute walk through a beautiful park gets you right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Old Riga. There are also some nice things in the neighborhood where the Bergs is--good restaurants, good shopping, and I would highly recommend ESPA Riga--the best spa experience I have ever had.

The rooms at the Bergs were very nice--quite modern, as one would expect. They were also pretty spacious, with 2 french door-style windows that provided nice light and air. Room service food was excellent, but a bit on the expensive side, as one would expect.

Friendly people at the front desk. I speak a little Latvian, and unfortunately the conversation reverted to English a little too quickly. I'm sure it was courtesy on their part, but I would have liked to practice my Latvian a bit more, as I was able to at other hotels. Another slight annoyance--why so many Russian channels on the TV? Perhaps 3 English channels, 5 Latvian channels, and like 20 Russian channels--I found this mildly offensive to have more Russian channels than Latvian channels. But I am oversensitive about such things, having family that suffered from the Soviet occupation.

My own personal issues aside---don't hesitate to stay at the Bergs. It's a first-class hotel, and a good value by European standards. Riga is a beautiful and fun city, and Hotel Bergs is a nice oasis in which to rest from the travels.

(As a final note, I would also recommend comparing this hotel to Hotel Neiburgs, which is in a slightly better location, and is a slightly better value for the money. But you can't go wrong with either of them.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my girlfriend and I have to say that this is the best hotel I've ever been to. A newly renovated hotel with every offer you can imagine (e.g. it's own pillow-menu to its guests to ensure the best comfort, bodyguard-service, massage, etc.).

Good value for money in my opinion! I would recommend everyone to go here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bergs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergs

Address: 83 / 85 Elizabetes, Riga LV-1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#5 Family Hotel in Riga
#5 Business Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bergs 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bergs, a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is a boutique hotel, located in the business center of Riga in a charming pedestrian oasis called Bergs Bazaar. The Old Town, the Latvian National Opera, and most of corporate and government offices are 5-10min walk away. Opened in July, 2003, Hotel Bergs offers its guests 38 individually designed spacious suites (45-80 sq.M.), Several elegant conference and meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment. The Bergs restaurant, which has a veranda and summer terrace, is one of Riga's leading gourmet restaurants well known for its fine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bergs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergs Hotel Riga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bergs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.